Super Rugby

Brumbies batter sorry Rebels




The Brumbies eased to a comfortable 32-3 derby victory over the Melbourne Rebels at Gio Stadium in Canberra and keep themselves in prime position for a playoff berth.

Wharenui Hawera collected 17 points which included a second-half try, three conversions and two penalties, as Stephen Larkham’s men eased to a bonus-point victory.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Jordan Smiler and Tevita Kuridrani both scored tries either side of the break, while the Rebels could only muster a 23rd minute Reece Hodge penalty.

The Brumbies scored 29 unanswered points after Hodge’s penalty levelled the scores at 3-all early in the first-half.

Nigel Ah Wong sealed the deal at the death when he beat Hugh Sinclair to a rolling ball inside the Rebels’ in-goal area.

This has been somewhat of a grudge match in recent times and it was no different this time around.


More to follow…

Final score: Brumbies 32 (11) Rebels 3 (3)


Tries – Smiler, Kuridrani, Hawera, Ah Wong
Pen – Hawera (2)
Con – Hawera (3)
Drop –
Cards –

Tries –
Pen – Hodge
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 1: Damon Murphy
Assistant Ref 2: James Leckie
TMO: Ian Smith



15 Tom Banks, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Aidan Toua, 10 Wharenui Hawera, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Jordan Smiler, 7 Chris Alcock, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Sam Carter (captain), 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Josh Mann-Rea, 1 Nic Mayhew.

Replacements: 16 Robbie Abel, 17 Faalelei Sione, 18 Leslie Leulua’Iali’I-Makin, 19 Tom Staniforth, 20 Jarrad Butler, 21 De Wet Roos, 22 Andrew Muirhead, 23 Nigel Ah Wong.


15 Reece Hodge, 14 Sefa Naivalu, 13 Tom English, 12 Mitch Inman, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Ben Volavola, 9 Nic Stirzaker (captain), 8 Amanaki Mafi, 7 Colby Fainga’a, 6 Hugh Sinclair, 5 Lopeti Timani, 4 Steve Cummins, 3 Tyrel Lomax, 2 James Hanson, 1 Toby Smith.

Replacements: 16 Siliva Siliva, 17 Cruze Ah-Nau, 18 Laurie Weeks, 19 Culum Retallick, 20 Will Miller, 21 Ben Meehan, 22 Jackson Garden-Bachop, 23 Jonah Placid.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.