Super Rugby

Brumbies change three for Rebels clash


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

The Brumbies have named a Super Rugby team with three changes to the starting team to play the Rebels in Melbourne on Saturday.

In their last outing the Brumbies beat the Reds at at GIO Stadium but for this week coach Stephen Larkham has made changes.

Sam Carter returns to skipper the side against the Rebels, renewing his second-row partnership with Wallabies international team-mate Rory Arnold, whilst there are starts for centre Andrew Smith and no.8 Jarrad Butler in place of the injured Kyle Godwin and Jordan Smiler.

Head Coach Stephen Larkham reverts to a 6-2 split on the bench which sees Jordan Jackson-Hope named as cover for the backs alongside a possible first Brumbies cap for former Australian Sevens star and ACT local Tom Cusack.

Blake Enever is included amongst the forward replacements in what is a strong bench as the Brumbies aim to extend their winning streak against Australian Conference opposition to eleven.

The hand injury suffered by Godwin in the 43-10 hammering of the Reds means a first start of the season for Smith in the inside-centre role, linking up with Tevita Kuridrani. Tom Banks retains his position on the left wing with Henry Speight and last week’s man of the match Aidan Toua completing the back three.

The halves pairing of Joe Powell and Wharenui Hawera continues for a seventh match in a row with the Kiwi-born pivot having racked up 52 points in his first half a dozen matches for the club.

The pack, which was in dominant form against the Reds, has a more settled look with the front row trio of Scott Sio, Robbie Abel and Allan Alaalatoa combining for the second week in succession.

With Smiler out injured, Butler’s first start of the campaign is alongside powerhouse Scott Fardy and the ultra-impressive Chris Alcock, the pair proving to be almost unstoppable at the breakdown in the Reds victory, snaffling regular possession and securing plenty of ball.


1. Scott SIO , 2. Robbie ABEL , 3. Allan ALAALATOA , 4. Rory ARNOLD , 5. Sam CARTER (c) , 6. Scott FARDY , 7. Chris ALCOCK , 8. Jarrad BUTLER , 9. Joe POWELL , 10. Wharenui HAWERA , 11. Tom BANKS , 12. Andrew SMITH , 13. Tevita KURIDRANI , 14. Henry SPEIGHT , 15. Aidan TOUA

Replacements:16. Saia FAINGA’A , 17. Nic MAYHEW , 18. Ben ALEXANDER , 19. Blake ENEVER , 20. Tom STANIFORTH , 21. Tom CUSACK , 22. De Wet ROOS , 23. Jordan JACKSON-HOPE

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.