Super Rugby

Brumbies reveal 2017 Super Rugby squad


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Canberra based Super Rugby franchise the Brumbies have confirmed their squad for the 2017 Super Rugby season.

Head Coach Stephen Larkham will lead a Brumbies team that is headlined by thirteen Wallaby internationals as well as Argentine scrum-half Tomás Cubelli who returns to the Capital for a second season.

“We have a good mix of local, interstate and international players in our squad,” Larkham commented as a number of players have returned to training this week.

“It’s a good mix of experience and youthful energy, and it’s going to be a great opportunity for us to show who we are, why we are here and what we want to achieve.

“Last week we started our pre-season program, and over the next couple of months, leading into our pre-season games in late January, the players will work hard to improve their fitness, develop their skills, find their combination, and become a better team.”

Whilst the Brumbies have named a strong squad for the 2017 season, the acquisition phase is not yet complete with the team still searching for a specialist in the number ten position.

“It’s no secret that we are still looking at our options around the number ten position,” Interim CEO Phil Thomson commented.

“The coaching staff have their eye on a number of potential candidates for the upcoming season. Those players will get their opportunities to impress the coaches during pre-season.”

As well as the core group of Australian stars, including Tevita Kuridrani, Scott Sio, Rory Arnold, Scott Fardy, Ben Alexander, Henry Speight, Josh Mann-Rea, Sam Carter, Saia Fainga’a, Anthony Fainga’a, Christian Lealiifano and Allan Alaalatoa, the squad also contains plenty of local talent.

Prop Faalelei Sione from Royals, inside-centre Jordan Jackson-Hope (Tuggeranong) and scrum-half Ryan Lonergan (Tuggeranong) have made the step-up to the elite level and will be pushing hard for game time.

Newcomers to the group include the return of the Fainga’a twins to the club where they started their professional career, prop Nic Mayhew from the Blues, full-back Tom Banks (Queensland), flanker Chris Alcock, who joins from the Force alongside highly promising centre Kyle Godwin, who made his Wallabies debut against France on the weekend, and Australian Sevens Star Tom Cusack.

The Brumbies will play seven home matches during the 2017 Super Rugby season and memberships are available for purchase now from


Allan Alaalatoa
Ben Alexander
Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin
Nic Mayhew
Scott Sio
Faalelei Sione

Robbie Abel
Saia Fainga’a
Josh Mann-Rea

Rory Arnold
Sam Carter
Blake Enever
Tom Staniforth

Chris Alcock
Jarrad Butler
Tom Cusack
Lolo Fakaosilea
Scott Fardy
Ben Hyne
Jordan Smiler
Rob Valetini

Tomás Cubelli
Ryan Lonergan
Joe Powell

Anthony Fainga’a
Kyle Godwin
Jordan Jackson-Hope
Nick Jooste
Christian Lealiifano

Nigel Ah Wong
James Dargaville
Tevita Kuridrani
Andrew Smith
Henry Speight
Lausii Taliauli

Tom Banks
Aidan Toua

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.