Super Rugby

Crusaders prop Franks cited for foul play 

on

Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Crusaders Super rugby prop Owen Franks has been cited for foul play in his team’s Super rugby victory over the Blues in Auckland.

Franks is alleged to have contravened Law 9.12: Striking a player with the arm, during the match between the Blues and Crusaders at Eden Park in Auckland on 19 May 2018.

Upon further review of the match footage, the Citing Commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the Red Card threshold for foul play.

The Case is to be considered in the first instance by the SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee which will take place on 20 May 2018, 9am(SAST), 5pm(AEST), 7pm(NZST) via video-conference.

All SANZAAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to the Foul Play Review Committee to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

As always with Sanzaar citings for the matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the Foul Play Review Committee.

Player: Owen Franks
Team: Crusaders
Position: Prop
Date of Incident: 19 May 2018
Nature of Offence: Law 9.12: Striking a player with the arm
Elapsed time in match when incident occurred: 36:50

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.