Super Rugby

Crusaders vs Waratahs Rd.13 Super Rugby Preview




The first Super Rugby match in Round 13 is in Christchurch New Zealand where the Crusaders host the Waratahs from Sydney.

The Crusaders go into the match having lost to the Highlanders last week. The loss ended an eight match winning streak that put them on top of the standings.

The Waratahs will also go into the match with some form behind them as they have won their last four matches and against the Crusaders they have won their last two matches.

The Waratahs have also moved up to the top of the Australian Super Rugby Conference.

The Crusaders have played the Waratahs 22 times in Super Rugby and they have won 16 matches and lost 6. That gives them a record of winning 73% of their matches.

The Crusaders have had home advantage over the Waratahs on 12 occasions and the they have won 11 matches. That gives the Crusaders a record of winning 92% of their home matches against the Sydney siders.

The average score when the Crusaders play the Waratahs on New Zealand soil is : Crusaders 31 Waratahs 18.

The only and only victory that the Waratahs have against the Crusaders was in 2004 and they have lost their last seven matches against the Crusaders in New Zealand.

For this match the Crusaders have made two changes to the side that lost last week. The changes are rotations at both prop and second five, with Joe Moody and Ryan Crotty taking the starting spots, and Wyatt Crockett and David Havili moving to the bench.

Half back Andy Ellis will be playing in his 150th Super Rugby cap and Crusaders coach Todd Blackadder has pointed out that this will be their last home match until July so they will be wanting a big win before they hit the road.

The Waratahs beat the Bulls last week and they have made three changes – one of the injury enforced as Kurtley Beale has been ruled out. Waratahs head coach Daryl Gibson has chosen to rotate back rower, Wycliff Palu who has been involved in the two recent physical battles against South African outfits and handed a start to Jed Holloway.

Holloway returns to the side having recovered from a shoulder two weeks ago. In the backs David Horwitz will start at inside centre after replacing Kurtley Beale, who was injured one minute into last weekend’s match.

The Waratahs have won the last two matches and both of these were in Sydney. The last time these teams met in Christchurch was back in 2013 and the Crusaders won 23-22.

The Bookies have given the Waratahs a 12 point start for this Match – with an offer of up to $200 in Bonus bets. Australian sides have struggled against New Zealand teams this season and the Waratahs have a history of struggling in Christchurch. After their loss last week the Crusaders will be smarting and should win this by 9.

This Match will be shown on TV in NZ (Sky), Aus (Fox Sports), SA (SuperSport) and in the UK on Sky Sports 1.

Average score: Crusaders 29 Waratahs 22

Last five results
23 May 2015 Crusaders v Waratahs 22-32 Sydney
02 Aug 2014 (Final) Crusaders v Waratahs 32-33 Sydney
31 May 2013 Crusaders v Waratahs 23-22 Christchurch
29 Apr 2012 Crusaders v Waratahs 37-33 Sydney
04 Mar 2011 Crusaders v Waratahs 33-18 Nelson

Crusaders overall record against the Waratahs
Played 22 , Wins 16, Losses 6, Draws 0

Match No.94:Crusaders v Waratahs
Date : Friday 20 May 2016
Venue : AMI Stadium, Christchurch
Kick Off local: 19:35 local
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 1:Jaco van Heerden
Assistant Ref 2:Kane McBride
TMO : Chris Wratt



1. Joe Moody ,2. Codie Taylor , 3. Owen Franks ,4. Luke Romano , 5. Sam Whitelock , 6. Jordan Taufua , 7. Matt Todd , 8. Kieran Read (C), , 9. Andy Ellis, 10. Richie Mo’unga , 11. Jone Macilai, 12. Ryan Crotty, 13. Kieron Fonotia, 14. Johnny McNicholl, 15. Israel Dagg

Replacements : 16. Ged Robinson , 17. Wyatt Crockett, 18. Mike Alaalatoa, 19. Scott Barrett , 20. Tim Boys , 21. Mitchell Drummond , 22. David Havili , 23. Marty McKenzie


1. Paddy Ryan, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 3. Tom Robertson , 4. David Dennis, 5. Will Skelton , 6. Dean Mumm , 7. Michael Hooper (C) 8. Jed Holloway , 9. Nick Phipps , 10. Bernard Foley, 11. Rob Horne , 12. David Horwitz, 13. Israel Folau, 14. Reece Robinson , 15. Andrew Kellaway ,

Replacments:16. Angus Ta’avao , 17. Hugh Roach , 18. Jeremy Tilse , 19. Sam Lousi , 20. Wycliff Palu, 21. Matt Lucas , 22. Matt Carraro, 23. Zac Guildford.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.