Super Rugby | Super 15 Rugby and Rugby Championship News,Results and Fixtures from Super XV Rugby

Fardy captains Brumbies against Reds

Scott Fardy wrestles with the ball for the Brumbies

Brumbies head coach Stephen Larkham has named flanker Scott Fardy to lead the Canberra Super Rugby franchise for the first time against the R3eds on Saturday.

Fardy will lead a Brumbies side with three changes to the starting XV that played in the last match.

- Latest Super Rugby betting odds
- Full Super Rugby fixtures
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Larkham has also recalled lock Rory Arnold to the starting side in place of regular skipper Sam Carter, who is rotated out of the line-up.

Arnold will partner Blake Enever at lock whilst prop Scott Sio makes a first start of the season with Nic Mayhew reverting to the replacements.

There is one change in the back-line as well with ex-Reds utility Tom Banks handed a Brumbies debut on the left wing with James Dargaville taking a spot amongst the substitutes.

Alongside Dargaville on the bench there is a first appearance of the campaign for back-row Jarrad Butler, potentially his 50th Brumbies cap, and Andrew Smith returns with Jordan Jackson-Hope dropping out of the matchday 23.

Apart from the trio of newcomers, the Brumbies name the same team that went close to downing the Highlanders in Round 5 and, with the team coming off the bye week, they will be determined to get back to winning ways and take a firm command of the Australian Conference.

An exciting front row of Sio, Robbie Abel and Allan Alaalatoa will ensure a solid platform up front with Fardy leading from his usual blindside flanker role with Chris Alcock on the opposite flank and Jordan Smiler at number 8.

Joe Powell and Wharenui Hawera will conduct play from behind the scrum with the centre pairing of Kyle Godwin and Tevita Kuridrani lining up alongside each other for the sixth successive match.

Leading try scorer Henry Speight takes up position on the right wing with speedy full-back Aidan Toua also featuring against his former team.


1. Scott SIO , 2. Robbie ABEL , 3. Allan ALAALATOA , 4. Rory ARNOLD , 5. Blake ENEVER , 6. Scott FARDY (c) , 7. Chris ALCOCK , 8. Jordan SMILER , 9. Joe POWELL , 10. Wharenui HAWERA , 11. Tom BANKS , 12. Kyle GODWIN , 13. Tevita KURIDRANI , 14. Henry SPEIGHT , 15. Aidan TOUA

Replacements : 16. Saia FAINGA’A , 17. Nic MAYHEW , 18. Ben ALEXANDER , 19. Tom STANIFORTH , 20. Jarrad BUTLER , 21. De Wet ROOS , 22. Andrew SMITH , 23. James DARGAVILLE