Super Rugby

Fourteen man Brumbies blow Bulls away




Canberra’s Brumbies beat the Bulls 28-38 to earn their first Super rugby victory in Pretoria since 2013 and extend their winning streak to three straight wins over the Pretoria side.

The Brumbies had won the previous two meetings between the teams but both of those matches were played in Canberra so this is their first away win over the Bulls in five years.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

The victory is the Brumbies fourth win this season and they had lost their last five matches so this ends that losing streak.

The Brumbies finished the match with 14 players after Folau Fainga’a was red-carded for a headbutt. The red card seemed to inspire the Canberra side as they scored two late tries while the Bulls could only add a penalty after the card.

Folau Fainga’a’s red card

The Bulls got the perfect start as Handre Pollard scored the opening try of the match in the fifth minute and then he added the conversion.

The Brumbies however hit back almost immediately as Kyle Godwin slipped through a hole and ran in the visitor’s first of five tries. Christian Lealiifano was a little unreliable in the match with his boot but he started well and leveled the scores at 7 all in the 7th minute.

The Brumbies could have taken the lead five minutes later but Lealiifano’s penalty attempt went wide. Three minutes later Lealiifano was on target with a penalty shot which had the Brumbies in front.

The Bulls were the next to score when the Bulls moved the ball across the field with pace to flanker Roelof Smit who powered over for the home side’s second try. Pollard added the conversion from out wide which gave the Bulls a four point lead.

After trailing 14-10 at half time the Brumbies made the better start to the second half when Joe Powell created space for Lachlan McCaffrey to score. After Lealiifano added the conversion the Brumbies had a three-point lead.

The Bulls scored their final try in the 50th minute when Johnny Kotze crossed the line. There was a hint of an obstruction in the build up but the TMO approved the try.

Pollard was unable to add the conversion but three minutes later he put the Bulls further ahead with a penalty kick.

The Brumbies got themselves back in the match with a try from hooker Folau Fainga’a who dived in low for the try line and scored. Lealiifano added the conversion which cut the Bulls lead to one.

The turning point in the match came in the 62nd minute when Fainga’a was red carded for connecting with the head. The Bulls used the opportunity to add a penalty but despite having a player less the Brumbies stepped up and took control of the match.

Brumbies fullback Tom Banks showed his pace in a brilliant individual try which put the visitors into the lead. Wharenui Hawera added the conversion.

The Brumbies could have settled back to defend their lead but instead they continued to attack and somehow even though they were a player down they created the overlap and Andrew Muirhead scored the final try. Hawera added the conversion from the touch-line to finish the scoring.

Next week the Bulls are not involved in Super rugby as they break for the June internationals now while the Brumbies host the Sunwolves in Canberra.

Final Score Bulls 28 (14) Brumbies 38 (10)


Tries – H.Pollard, R.Smit, J. Kotze
Pen – H.Polard 3
Con – H.Pollard 2
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – K.Godwin, L.McCaffrey, F. Fainga’a, T.Banks, A.Muirhead
Pen – C. Lealiifano
Con – C. Lealiifano 2, W.Hawera 2
Drop –
Cards – F. Fainga’a (61st min red)

Attendance: 8189

Match Officials
Referee: Marius van dr Westhuizen
Assistant Ref 1:AJ Jacobs
Assistant Ref 2:Jaco Pretorius
TMO :Willie Vos



15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Travis Odendaal, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Johnny Kotze, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Marco van Staden, 7 Nic de Jager, 6 Roelof Smit, 5 RG Snyman, 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Conraad van Vuuren, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Trevor Nyakane

Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Mox Mxoli, 18 Matthys Basson, 19 Ruben van Heerden, 20 Thembelani Bholi, 21 Andre Warner, 22 Manie Libbok, 23 Divan Rossouw


15 Tom Banks, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Andrew Muirhead, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 David Pocock, 6 Lachlan McCaffrey, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Blake Enever, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 Scott Sio

Replacements: 16 Connal McInerney, 17 Nick Mayhew, 18 Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin, 19 Richie Arnold, 20 Tom Cusack, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 Wharenui Hawera, 23 Andrew Smith

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.