Super Rugby

Jaguares earn first victory over Sunwolves




Argentina’s Jaguares earned their first ever Super Rugby victory over Japanese expansion franchise the Sunwolves with a 46-39 victory in Buenos Aires.

When the two expansion Super Rugby teams met for the first time in Tokyo last year the match was won 36-28 by the Japanese side.

The Sunwolves were the first to score when in the third minute of the match Will Tupou crossed for for the Sunwolves.

In the eighth minute the Jaguares hit back with a try from Leonardo Senatore which was the first of seven tries for the hosts including a penalty try.

The teams exchanged tries throughout the match but the Sunwolves managed to stay ahead for most of the contest until the final 10 minutes when the Jaguares took the lead and held on to it thanks to two tries from Augustin Creevy who scored his second in the 71 st minute and Matias Moroni who scored in the 74th minute.

The other Jaguares tries were scored by Leonardo Senatore, Emiliano Boffelli, a penalty try and Matias Alemanno.

The Jaguares outscored the Sunwolves by seven tries to five but as the Japanese side finished within seven points they return home with a losing bonus point.

The Sunwolves led 22-25 at half time which was the most points the Japanese side had ever scored in an opening half.

Sunwolves pivot Yu Tamura also set a record in the match as his 24 points is the largest haul of points for a Sunwolves player in one match.

Tamura scored two tries for the Sunwolves and their other tries were scored by Tupou, Shota Emi and Sam Wykes.

Next week in Round 12 the Sunwolves have a bye before they fly to Singapore where they will host the Sharks.

The Jaguares host the Western Force at home in Buenos Aires next weekend.

Final Score  Jaguares 46 (22) Sunwolves 39 (25) 


Tries – L. Senatore, E.Boffelli, Penalty, A Creevy 2, M.Alemanno,M.Moroni
Pen – J.M.Hernández
Con – J.M.Hernández 2, Penalty Con, J.D.Bonilla
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – W.Tupou, S.Emi, Y. Tamura 2, S.Wykes
Pen – Y.Tamura
Con – Y.Tamura 4
Drop –
Cards – S.Wykes (42nd min yellow)

Match Officials
Referee: Jaco van Heerden
Assistant Ref 1:Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 2:Damian Schneider
TMO : Santiago Borsani



15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Santiago Cordero, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Santiago González Iglesias, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Juan Martín Hernández, 9 Felipe Ezcurra, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Rodrigo Baez, 6 Tomás Lezana, 5 Marcos Kremer, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustín Creevy, 1 Santiago Garcia Botta

Replacements: 16 Roberto Tejerizo, 17 Lucas Noguera Paz, 18 Enrique Pieretto Heilan, 19 Matías Alemanno, 20 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 21 Martín Landajo, 22 Joaquin Dias Bonilla, 23 Matias Moroni


15 Kotaro Matsushima, 14 Shota Emi, 13 Will Tupou, 12 Timothy Lafaele, 11 Kenki Fukuoka, 10 Yu Tamura, 9 Yuki Yatomi, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Shunsuke Nunomaki, 6 Rahboni Warren-Vosayaco, 5 Uwe Helu, 4 Sam Wykes, 3 Yasuo Yamaji, 2 Yusuke Niwai, 1 Koki Yamamoto

Replacements: 16 Takeshi Hino, 17 Keita Inagaki, 18 Takuma Asahara, 19 Shinya Makabe, 20 Ed Quirk, 21 Keisuke Uchida, 22 Jumpei Ogura, 23 Ryohei Yamanaka

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.