Super Rugby

Jaguares lock Lavanini cited for foul play

on

Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Jaguares Super Rugby lock Tomas Lavanini has been cited for striking Cheetahs centre William Small-Smith in their 33-34 victory over the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein.

Lavanini is alleged to have contravened 10.4 (a) Punching or striking, when he made contact with Cheetahs #12 William Small-Smith in an incident that occurred in the 25th minute of the match between the Cheetahs and Jaguares at Toyota Stadium in Bloemfontein on 26 February 2016.

The referee for the match, Stuart Berry, reviewed the incident with the Television Match Official and awarded a Penalty at the restart after the try which was scored immediately prior to the incident.

Upon further review of the match footage, the Citing Commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the red card threshold for foul play.

The citing is to be considered in the first instance by SANZAAR Duty Judicial Officer Nigel Hampton QC.

All SANZAAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to a Duty Judicial Officer hearing to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

For a matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the DJO.

Player: Tomas Lavanini
Team: Jaguares
Position: Lock
Date of Incident: 26 February 2016
Nature of Offence: 10.4 (a) Punching or striking, A player must not strike an opponent with the fist or arm, including the elbow, shoulder, head or knee(s).
Elapsed time in match when incident occurred: 25th minute

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *