Super Rugby

Jaguares waltz past Waratahs




The Jaguares cruised to a 38-28 win over the Waratahs at Estadio José Amalfitani in Buenos Aires.

The Jaguares scored four unanswered tries inside the opening 20 minutes to lead 26-nil and never looked back in this convincing victory over the Sydney franchise.

The Argentines scored inside the first 16 seconds through Emiliano Boffelli, who grabbed a brace with his second try on 12 minutes.

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Joaquin Tuculet and his Pumas’ team-mate Nicolas Sanchez, scored the other two tries.

Jed Holloway and Bautista Delguy traded tries before the break as the Jaguares took a 33-7 lead into the shed.

Curtis Rona scored soon after half-time but it would be the last points for the Australians until the 79th-minute.

However, with seven minutes remaining, Matias Orlando put the game to bed.

Tries from Nick Palmer and Israel Folau, in last two minutes, were no consolation, but they denied the Jaguares a certain bonus-point.

The home side dominated the opening quarter of the game, blitzing the Waratahs.

Boffelli raced away after the Jaguares won the ball from the kick-off.

The 23-year-old was in for his second try after stepping two defenders and cutting inside to score.

It was not long before Tuculet’s midfield burst made it 21-nil.

The fullback joined the line, beat Rona and sped away to score under the poles.

Things went from bad to terrible when Sanchez’s fancy footwork extended his team’s lead.

A massive hit from Michael Wells on Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias led to a fortuitous scrum to the Waratahs.

Iglesias did not lose the ball in contact, but Mike Fraser did not see him regather the ball before it touched the ground.

Two minutes’ later, Holloway picked up the ball at the base of the ruck, saw nobody at home, went straight through the ruck and raced away to score under the posts.

The joy was short-lived.

With the clock ticking down to half-time, the Australians went in search of another score, however, Bernard Foley’s loose pass was intercepted by Delguy and the momentum was lost.

The second-half started with Rona scoring after some wonderful interplay between himself, Folau and Jake Gordon.

Foley added another conversion, reducing the deficit to 19 points with half-an-hour left.

The Jaguares’ defence held firm, repelling everything the Aussies threw at them.

Their own handling was letting them down, though.

The home team’s scrum was starting to dominate.

Sebastian Cancelliere burst away from Bryce Hegarty, fending him off twice.

He dived before the line, under pressure from Will Miller, but lost the ball over the goal-line.

Seven minutes of madness and a missed bonus-point.

The Argentines did manage to put the game to bed when Orlando crossed for his team’s sixth try of the match.

At 38-14 down, the Australian might have given up, but they kept fighting.

Eventually, they were rewarded when Palmer crossed for his team’s third try.

The Jaguares had switched off, and before they knew it, the Waratahs had another.

Folau chased Hegarty’s kick and beat Boffelli to the ball, denying their hosts a bonus-point.

Final score: Jaguares 38 (33) Waratahs 28 (7)


Tries – Boffelli (2), Tuculet, Sanchez, Delguy, Orlando
Pen –
Con – Sanchez (4)
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Holloway, Rona, Palmer, Folau
Pen –
Con – Foley (4)
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Mike Fraser
Assistant Ref 1: Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 2: Pablo Deluca
TMO: Santiago Borsani



15 Joaquin Tuculet, 14 Bautista Delguy, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Javier Ortega Desio, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Pablo Matera (captain), 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Matias Alemanno, 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2 Agustin Creevy, 1 Felipe Arregui.

Replacements: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Santiago Garcia Botta, 18 Juan Pablo Zeiss, 19 Guido Petti Pagadizaval, 20 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 21 Felipe Ezcurra, 22 Joaquin Diaz Bonilla, 23 Sebastian Cancelliere.


15 Israel Folau, 14 Alex Newsome, 13 Lalakai Foketi, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Curtis Rona, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Jake Gordon, 8 Jed Holloway, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Michael Wells, 5 Tom Staniforth, 4 Ned Hanigan, 3 Paddy Ryan, 2 Damien Fitzpatrick, 1 Tom Robertson.

Replacements: 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Harry Johnson-Holmes, 18 Kalivati Tawake, 19 Nick Palmer, 20 Will Miller, 21 Nick Duffy, 22 Bryce Hegarty, 23 Taqele Naiyaravoro.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.