Super Rugby

Jones to lead Lions against Crusaders


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

British and Irish Lions head coach Warren Gatland has named his team to play the current leading Super Rugby franchise the Crusaders at AMI Stadium on Saturday.

Three time Lions tourist Alun Wyn Jones will lead the British & Irish Lions into their third Tour match

Wales skipper Jones captained the Lions in the third Test in Australia in 2013 as well as playing in all the Tests in South Africa in 2009.

And the centurian capped second row will bring all his experience to a starting line-up which sees Jonathan Davies, George North and Sean O’Brien start their first Tour games.

Head Coach Warren Gatland said: “The aim was always to start everyone in the first three matches and this selection ensures that we achieve this.

“This is an experienced team with nine of the starting 15 players having featured in 2013.

“Our squad is working hard and we are seeing improvement in their performances both at training and in the games.

“Last night’s results against the Blues was disappointing and we know we can’t afford to give away so many penalties.

“We are looking forward to the clash against the Crusaders and we expect a tough game against the most successful team in Super Rugby history.”

British & Irish Lions

15 Stuart Hogg – Glasgow Warriors, Scotland, 14 George North – Northampton Saints, Wales, 13 Jonathan Davies – Scarlets, Wales, 12 Ben Te’o – Worcester Warriors, England, 11 Liam Williams – Scarlets, Wales, 10 Owen Farrell – Saracens, England, 9 Conor Murray – Munster, Ireland, 1 Mako Vunipola – Saracens, England, 2 Jamie George – Saracens, England, 3 Tadhg Furlong – Leinster, Ireland, 4 Alun Wyn Jones (capt) – Ospreys, Wales, , 5 George Kruis – Saracens, England, 6 Peter O’Mahony – Munster, Ireland, 7 Sean O’Brien – Leinster, Ireland, 8 Taulupe Faletau – Bath Rugby, Wales,

Replacements : 16 Ken Owens – Scarlets, Wales, 17 Jack McGrath – Leinster, Ireland, 18 Dan Cole – Leicester, England, 19 Maro Itoje – Saracens, England, 20 CJ Stander – Munster, Ireland, 21 Rhys Webb – Ospreys, Wales, 22 Johnny Sexton – Leinster, Ireland, 23 Anthony Watson – Bath Rugby, England,

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.