Site icon Super Rugby Pacific | Super Rugby Championship news, results and fixtures from Super XV rugby

Lions beat Brumbies in Johannesburg

Live super rugby scores - Live Super Rugby scoring

Live super rugby scores - Live Super Rugby scoring

The Lions, after a disappointing tour of Australia and New Zealand, have returned home to South Africa where they will play the Brumbies from Canberra.

The Lions have played the Brumbies 18 times since 1998; the Lions have won five matches and lost 13.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

1.00: PEEEEP! We are underway in Johannesburg. 

- 2022 Super Rugby Pacific fixtures
- Latest Rugby betting odds
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

2.00: TRY! Tom Banks is over for the early score. The fullback beat three defenders before cutting inside to finish. The Lions have been caught napping and are off to a poor start. 0-5

3.00: CONVERSION! Christian Lealiifano adds the extras. 0-7

5.00: The Lions win a penalty at the scrum and Elton Jantjies, playing in his 100th Super Rugby match, kicks to touch.

6.00: The home team maul their way over the goal-line, but it is held up. Scrum on the Brumbies 5m.

7.00: The Lions’ pack is over but held up, again.

9.00: TRY! Rohan Janse van Rensburg beats two defenders and cruises over the whitewash. 5-7

11.00: CONVERSION! Jantjies levels the scores. 7-all

13.00: Swys de Bruin will be happy that his team has managed to hit back at the first opportunity.

15.00: The Brumbies are on the attack, winning a penalty and opting for a scrum.

17.00: TRY! The Brumbies  – patient – barrage ends with Tevita Kuridrani crossing for their second five-pointer. 7-12

17.00: CONVERSION! Lealiifano doubles the lead. 7-14

18.00: Andries Coetzee gifts the Brumbies a penalty, but they miss their touch. Very lucky for the fullback.

20.00: Some reset scrums at the minute. Boy, rugby needs to sort this out.

21.00: Great work by the Brumbies, who win the turnover and clear the danger.

23.00: The age-old kicking duel begins with both teams looking for territory.

25.00: Another mistake by the hosts. Lourens Erasmus spills the short pass from Jantjies and the visitors get the scrum.

27.00: The Lions are putting the visitors under the pump, especially in the maul.

30.00: YELLOW CARD! Rory Arnold is sent to the bin.

30.00: TRY! Robbie Coetzee finishes off a powerful drive from his pack. 12-14

31.00: CONVERSION! The Centurian, once again, levels the scores. 14-all

35.00: The Australians win a penalty and will take a shot at goal.

37.00: PENALTY! Lealiifano makes no mistake, giving his team another lead. 14-17

38.00: Jantjies kicks a penalty to the Aussies’ 5m. They are awarded another penalty and opt for the lineout set-piece.

41.00: TRY! Ruan Dreyer gets up with the ball after a well-executed driving maul from the Lions’ pack. 19-17

42.00: CONVERSION! Jantjies adds the extras. 21-17

The halftime score was Lions 21 Brumbies 17

41.00: PEEEEP! We are back underway in the City of Gold.

43.00: The Lions are camped inside the Brumbies 22.

46.00: Wonderful defending by the Canberra team. They were under the cosh but managed to repel the Lions attack.

48.00: Some more stout defending by the visitors; they stopped the maul and win possession after the Lions knock on.

49.00: The Brumbies win a penalty and clear their lines. That was great by the away side.

52.00: TRY! It’s Tom Banks at the double with another sublime finish after some good build-up play. 21-22.

53.00: CONVERSION! Lealiifano makes no mistake. 21-24

56.00: It’s all Brumbies at the minute. They have gained a foothold in this half and are producing a rock solid defence to go with some good work in the midfield.

58.00: The Lions are enjoying some possession, now. They have gone 11 phases and are moving the Brumbies backwards.

59.00: Marvin Orie knocks on, ending the promising move.

60.00: RED CARD! The referee reviews the play again and looks to Arnold who has a high tackle on Jantjies. The referee confirms with the TMO and says “straight red card.” Arnold collects a pair of cards and is gone.

61.00: The referee is warning the Brumbies for too many infringements. Someone else is going to be in the bin, soon.

62.00: YELLOW CARD! Sam Carter is sent to the naughty step after one too many infringements. 

63.00: TRY! Marnus Schoeman is on the board again after a third driving maul results in five. 26-24

64.00: CONVERSION! Jantjies adds the two. 28-24

67.00: Henry Speight makes a break and the Brumbies are inside the Lions 22.

70.00: Scrum to the Brumbies on halfway.

73.00: TRY! Shaun Reynolds might have just put this game to bed. 33-24

74.00: CONVERSION! Jantjies extends his team’s lead. 35-24

76.00: TRY! Lourens Erasmus seals the deal. Jantjies with a chip over the top for Ruan Combrinck, who gathers before offloading to Erasmus who falls over the line to score. 40-24

77.00: CONVERSION! Jantjies keeps on keeping on. 42-24

80.00: Aphiwe Dyantyi loses the ball into touch, but the game is over and it makes no difference.


In the meantime why not have a look at the match preview.

To refresh this page click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The final score is Lions 42 (21) Brumbies 24 (17)


Tries – Janse van Rensburg, R. Coetzee, Dreyer, Schoeman, Reynolds, Erasmus
Pen –
Con – Jantjies (6)
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Banks (2), Kuridrani
Pen – Lealiifano
Con – Lealiifano (3)
Drop –
Cards – Arnold (Yellow, 30′; Red, 60′), Carter (Yellow, 62′)

Match Officials
Referee: Nick Briant
Assistant Ref 1: Quinton Immelman
Assistant Ref 2: Stephan Geldenhuys
TMO: Marius Jonker



15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Sylvian Mahuza, 13 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 12 Rohan Janse Van Rensburg, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Madosh Michael Tambwe, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Nicholas Groom, 8 Hacjivah Dayimani, 7 Francois Mostert (captain), 6 Albertus Smith, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Lourens Erasmus, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Dylan Smith.

Replacements: 16 Corne Fourie, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Johannes Jonker, 19 Len Massyn, 20 Marnus Schoeman, 21 Ross Cronje, 22 Shaun Reynolds, 23 Ruan Combrinck.


15 Tom Banks, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Andrew Muirhead, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rob Valetini, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Folau Fainga’a, 1 Scott Sio.

Replacements: 16 Robbie Abel, 17 Nick Mayhew, 18 Ben Alexander, 19 Blake Enever, 20 Lachlan Mccaffrey, 21 Tom Cusack, 22 Matt Lucas, 23 Andrew Smith.

Exit mobile version