Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Meyer names Springbok squad for England tour

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 2 June 2012|

New South Africa Rugby coach Heyneke Meyer has named his Springbok squad for the three Test squad against England starting next week which includes nine uncapped players.

The nine uncapped players are Marcell Coetzee, JJ Engelbrecht, Eben Etzebeth, Elton Jantjies, Juandre Kruger, Coenie Oosthuizen, Jacques Potgieter, Franco van der Merwe and Jano Vermaak.

Meyer has stuck heavily to his roots with the Bulls in Pretoria as the Bulls have 13 players in the squad compared to three players for the Stormers who lead the South African Super Rugby conference.

Meyer did not name his Springbok captain and said that their would be a camp on Sunday where the captaincy would be discussed. A surprise omission was that of Fourie du Preez who had been linked with the captaincy.

The squad includes 15 players from the Springboks Rugby World Cup 2011 squad, while there are nine Rugby World Cup winners from 2007 left in the squad.

The most experienced player in the squad is South Africa's foremost test try scorer Bryan Habana, with 74 caps. Six more players have played in excess of 40 tests for South Africa.

"We were always looking to start the season with an experienced squad to face England, but injuries to certain players and the non-availability of others have made it difficult," said Meyer.

"What we've lost in experience, we've made up in passion and desire to play for the Springboks.

The Sprinbok selectors have also named six promising players for the England series but they will not be eligible for selection but will train with the squad in Durban, Johannesburg and Port Elizabeth.

The six upcoming players that will join the Bok squad are Siya Kolisi (flank), Arno Botha (No 8), Frans Malherbe (prop), CJ Stander (loose forward), Francois Venter (centre) and Piet van Zyl (scrumhalf).

Meyer said: "We feel that these players have what it takes to play for the Springboks and they were close to selection in the final squad."

The Springbok squad is:

Willem Alberts
Bjorn Basson
Marcell Coetzee
Keegan Daniel
Jean de Villiers
Bismarck du Plessis
Jannie du Plessis
JJ Engelbrecht
Eben Etzebeth
Bryan Habana
Francois Hougaard
Elton Jantjies
Ryan Kankowski
Zane Kirchner
Juandre Kruger
Werner Kruger
Patrick Lambie
Tendai Mtawarira
Lwazi Mvovo
Wynand Olivier
Coenie Oosthuizen
Ruan Pienaar
JP Pietersen
Jacques Potgieter
Chiliboy Ralepelle
Pierre Spies
Frans Steyn
Morne Steyn
Adriaan Strauss
Flip van der Merwe
Franco van der Merwe
Jano Vermaak

Super XV Rugby Advertising

June Internationals video