Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----


New Zealand make clean sweep in IRB awards

Dan Carter has been named player of the year for the second time

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Monday 3 December 2012|

New Zealand's Dan Carter was named International Rugby Board (IRB) Player of the year at an awards ceremony in which All Black coach Steve Hansen was named coach of the year and his team took team of the year.

Fly half Carter and played a significant part in the All Blacks 20-match unbeaten run this year which only came to an end with a shock 38-21 defeat by England at Twickenham on Saturday.

That New Zealand undefeated sequence started last year, on their way to winning the World Cup, and 2012 saw New Zealand win 12 out of 14 Tests, with their only blemishes an 18-18 draw away to Australia in October and Saturday's stunning setback.

It was the second time the 30-year-old Carter, who this year returned from injury problems that saw him miss out on New Zealand's World Cup triumph, had won the IRB honour, following his success in 2005.

The other nominees for 2012 player of the year were All Blacks captain Richie McCaw, a three-time winner, England fly half Owen Farrell --who scored 17 points against New Zealand on Saturday -- and France fly-half Frederic Michalak.

This was the third straight year New Zealand had won the team award, with Hansen keeping the coaching prize in the country following the back-to-back wins of World Cup-winning boss Graham Henry.

IRB player of the year winners

2012: Dan Carter (NZL)
2011: Thierry Dusautoir (FRA)
2010: Richie McCaw (NZL)
2009: Richie McCaw (NZL)
2008: Shane Williams (WAL)
2007: Bryan Habana (RSA)
2006: Richie McCaw (NZL)
2005: Dan Carter (NZL)
2004: Schalk Burger (RSA)
2003: Jonny Wilkinson (ENG)
2002: Fabien Galthie (FRA)
2001: Keith Wood (IRL)

IRB team of the year winners

2012: New Zealand
2011: New Zealand
2010: New Zealand
2009: South Africa
2008: New Zealand
2007: South Africa
2006: New Zealand
2005: New Zealand
2004: South Africa
2003: England
2002: France
2001: Australia

IRB coach of the year winners

2012: Steve Hansen (NZL)
2011: Graham Henry (NZL)
2010: Graham Henry (NZL)
2009: Declan Kidney (IRL)
2008: Graham Henry (NZL)
2007: Jake White (RSA)
2006: Graham Henry (NZL)
2005: Graham Henry (NZL)
2004: Jake White (RSA)
2003: Clive Woodward (ENG)
2002: Bernard Laporte (FRA)
2001: Rod Macqueen (AUS)

Super XV Rugby Advertising.

Rugby Championship video