Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Stormers dismantle Sharks to remain unbeaten

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 2 April 2011|

The Stormers dismantled the Sharks for a 6-16 Super Rugby victory at the Shark tank in Durban to hold on to their Super Rugby lead and unbeaten status.

The Sharks are renowned for their physical and attacking game but both facets were almost entirely nullified by the Stormers who prevented the Sharks from taking control of the game in any way.

The result moves the Stormers back to the top of the Super Rugby standings after they had been overtaken by the Crusaders and the Reds.

Sharks fly-half Jacques-Louis Potgieter had an off match with the boot while his counterpart's kicking was perfect with three penalties and a conversion for a total of 11 points.

Stormers captain Schalk Burger, who had just returned from injury, scored the only try when he picked up at a ruck to dive over untouched in the 14th minute.

The Sharks managed just two first-half penalties from No. 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter and the second half was more of an armwrestle in which they failed to add any points.

After flyhalf Peter Grant gave the Stormers a fourth minute lead via a penalty, the Cape visitors ran hard at the Sharks, trying to breach the defence around the 22-metre area.

Despite several threatening moves out wide, however, the Stormers could not find their way through.

The Sharks absorbed the initial pressure spells and bounced back well with raids into the Stormers' half where they were able to secure a penalty in the 11th minute through flyhalf Jacques-Louis Potgieter to level the scores at 3-3.

By this stage both teams were still battling to strike up cohesion but the Stormers did manage to string a few phases together in a 13th minute sortie, launched from the Sharks' 10-metre line where centre Jaque Fourie set off on a darting run to take play to within 10 metres from the Sharks' tryline.

At the resultant loose-scrum, the ball spilt free and Stormers captain and flanker Schalk Burger was handily placed to romp in unopposed to snatch the opening try of the match.

Grant's conversion gave the Stormers a seven-point lead.

As first-half play unfolded the Sharks secured ample possession but they were up against a fine defensive unit and often they spilt the ball as they tried to live with the Stormers' tackles.

Potgieter had three penalty attempts in the last 16 minutes of the opening period, and was on target once, while his opposite number Grant also landed one to give the visitors a 13-6 advantage at the break.

After the second half got under way the Stormers enjoyed territorial advantage but could not make headway when they were within striking distance of the Sharks' tryline.

The home side staged a penetrative break-out from their in-goal area but an infringement on the Stormers' 22-metre line denied them a chance to score their first try.

Just as the match approached the hour mark, the Stormers stretched their lead with yet another penalty from Grant.

The Sharks managed to impose themselves on the match in short spells but too many errors crept into their game and this allowed the Stormers to keep their lead intact.

There was no shortage of promising moves from both sides in the closing stages but the Stormers' 16-6 lead survived until the referee sounded the final whistle.

Final Score Sharks 6 Stormers 16


Tries -
Pen - J-L Potgieter 2
Con -
Drop -
Cards -

Tries - S Burger
Pen - P Grant 3
Con - P Grant
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
Referee: Jonathon Kaplan (South Africa)
Assistant referee: Sindile Mayende (South Africa), Reuben Rossouw (South Africa)
Television match official: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)


Sharks :1. Tendai Mtawarira , 2. Bismarck du Plessis , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 4. Steven Sykes , 5. Alistair Hargreaves , 6. Keegan Daniel , 7. Willem Alberts , 8. Ryan Kankowski , 9. Charl McLeod , 10. Jacques-Louis Potgieter , 11. JP Pietersen , 12. Meyer Bosman , 13. Stefan Terblanche (Capt) , 14. Odwa Ndungane , 15. Louis Ludik

Replacements : 16. John Smit , 17. Eugene van Staden , 18. Gerhard Mostert , 19. Jacques Botes , 20. Conrad Hoffmann , 21. Adrian Jacobs , 22. Lwazi Mvovo

Stormers :15. Gio Aplon,14. Danie Poolman,13. Jaque Fourie,12. Jean De Villiers ,11. Bryan Habana,10. Peter Grant,9. Dewaldt Duvenage,8. Duane Vermuelen,7. Francois Louw,6. Schalk Burger (C),5. Andries Bekker,4. Rynhardt Elstadt,3. Brok Harris,2. Deon Fourie,1. Wicus Blaauw

Reserves:16. Ethienne Reynecke,17. CJ Van Der Linde,18. De Kock Steenkamp,19. Nick Koster,20. Ricky Januarie,21. Gary Van Aswegen,22. Juan De Jongh

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news