Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Highlanders beat Cheetahs in Dunedin

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Friday 8 April 2011|

Round eight in the 2011 Super Rugby tournament starts in Dunedin with the Highlanders hosting the Cheetahs on Friday.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off. Weather in Dunedin today is not ideal and could be a factor. The teams are on the field.
0.01: The match is underway.
1.00: The Cheetahs start well pressing hard at the Highlanders. The Highlanders however turn the ball over and kick the ball to safety.
2.00: The Highlanders soon find their rythmn and attack the Cheetahs in the Cheetahs 25. The Cheetahs hold them out.
5.00: Kenny Lynn gets some space on the wing. Highlanders are attacking well. They get called back for a foul tackle on Colin Slade.
6.00:  Penalty to the Highlanders.
7.00: Colin Slade takes the kick for posts but misses.
8.00: The Highlanders are putting the Cheetahs under pressure and have the upper hand in territory and possession.  
9.00: The Highlanders swing the ball from side to side and then Adam Thomson gets the ball on the wing and races away to score. TRY!!
10.00: Colin Slade takes the conversion kick and nails it.
12.00: Penalty to the Cheetahs. It is just inside their half so they kick for touch.
13.00: The Cheetahs fail to capitalise on the penalty as they lose the ball at the line out and the Highlanders take the ball and attack.
15.00: Highlanders win a penalty in the Cheetahs 25. (Ashley Johnson not rolling away)
16.00: Colin Slade takes the kick and slots it.
18.00: The Cheetahs get some good attacking ball in the Highlanders half but the home team turn the ball over and kick it out.
20.00: The Cheetahs start growing in attack. They get a penalty and Sarel Pretorius takes the quick tap and races for the line, he is held out but WP Nel drives over and scores. TRY!!
21.00: Sias Ebersohn takes the conversion from in front of the posts and slots it.
23.00: The Highlanders look to hit back as Ben Smith and then Colin Slade break. They get the ball out but the final pass to Rutledge is poor and he knocks on.  
26.00: Cheetahs doing a lot of defending in their 25. Robert Ebersohn gets the ball and boots it well downfield so the Highlanders have to attack from deep all over again.
27.00: Pretorius tries to regather the ball next to the line but takes it out. The Cheetahs lose the line out and the Highlanders snatch the ball and swing it out fast, Kenny Lynn slices through and scores under the posts. TRY!!
28.00: Colin Slade takes the conversion and nails it.
32.00: The Highlanders have won more line outs than the Cheetahs but the Highlanders have won the ones that count.
34.00: The Cheetahs get the ball in Highlanders half after a Highlanders mistake. They keep the momentum going forward and Robert Ebersohn races for the line and scores TRY!! Ashley Johnson's huge tackle forced the mistake.
36.00: Sias Ebersohn converts the try.
39.00: Treeby kicks the ball up but the Cheetahs try to gather the ball but knock on.
40.00: We have time for the scrum after the knock on. Highlanders win the ball and run at the Cheetahs. Penalty to the Cheetahs (Cowan playing the ball on the ground).
42.00: Sias Ebersohn takes the kick from almost the half way line - he slices it.
It is half time.
The half time score was Highlanders 17 Cheetahs 14
The second half is underway.
41.00: The Highlanders almost get the perfect start. They get an early break from Poki and keep the ball moving forward. They drive over the line but are held up. The Highlanders recycle and move the ball wide but get pushed out.
42.00: Kenny Lynn breaks and the Highlanders pass to Adam Thomson who finds a gap and takes it, he shows some pace as he races for the line and scores his second TRY!!
44.00; Colin Slade takes the conversion and slots it.
49.00: The Highlanders kick for touch in the corner. After the line out the Cheetahs knock on so we have a Highlanders attacking scrum in the Cheetahs 25.
51.00: The Cheetahs defend the scrum well and move the ball upfield to safety. There is a break in play as Jason Rutledge gets some medical attentions.
54.00: The Cheetahs kick the ball downfield and Cowan "just" gets a hand/elbow to the ball in the Highlanders try area. Pretorius gets to the ball half a second later.
55.00: Ashley Johnson has a busting run but loses the ball as he runs.
60.00: The Highlanders are still picking away at the Cheetahs but the game has taken on a funny kind of stalemate.
64.00: Penalty to the Cheetahs. Ebersohn will kick for posts. He takes the kick but misses.
70.00: Highlanders try to attack but Philip Burger intercepts and the Cheetahs try to run the ball at the Highlanders.  
74.00: Penalty to the Cheetahs. Sias Ebersohn takes the kick but he misses.
76.00: Ebersohn breaks for the Cheetahs and he catches the Highlanders unaware, he passes to Pretorius who passes to Burger who scores!! TRY!! Ebersohn converts the try.
79.00: Penalty to the Cheetahs. It's too far out so they kick for touch.
80.00: The Highlanders snatch the ball at the line out and kick it out. That's it. The Highlanders win.  
The full time score is Highlanders 24 Cheetahs 21


Tries - A Thomson 2, K Lynn
Pen - C Slade
Con - C Slade 3
Drop -
Cards -

Tries - WP. Nel, R Ebersohn, P Burger
Pen -
Con - S Ebersohn 3
Drop -
Cards -


Highlanders :1 , Jamie Mackintosh (C) 2 , Jason Rutledge 3, Chris King 4,Jarrad Hoeata 5 , Josh Bekhuis 6 , Adam Thomson 7 , Alando Soakai 8 , Nasi Manu 9 ,Jimmy Cowan (VC) 10,Colin Slade 11 , Siale Piutau 12, Shaun Treeby 13 ,Kendrick Lynn 14,Kade Poki 15 , Ben Smith

Replacements : 16. Mo Schwalger 17. David Te Moana 18. Tom Donnelly 19. Nick Crosswell 20. Aaron Smith 21. Robbie Robinson 22. James Paterson

Cheetahs: 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Philip Burger, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Corne Uys, 11 Wilmaure Louw, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Davon Raubenheimer, 6 Kabamba Floors, 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp (c), 4 Francois Uys, 3 WP Nel, 2 Ryno Barnes, 1 Coenie Oosthuisen.

Replacements: 16 Skipper Badenhorst 17 Lourens Adriaanse, 18 Martin Muller, 19 Leon Karemaker, 20 Tewis de Bruyn, 21 Naas Olivier, 22 Riaan Smit.

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news