Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Stormers extend winning streak over Lions

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 16 April 2011|

The Stormers got back to winning ways when they beat the Lions by 19 points to 33 at Coca-Cola Park in Johannesburg on Saturday.

The Lions have not won in Johannesburg for two years and have now lost five matches in a row after they beat the Cheetahs in Round 5. The Lions have now lost 11 matches in a row against the Stormers.

The Lions looked to be on track for a losing bonus point but conceded a try with two minutes remaining to Stormers replacement Johann Sadie who was winning his second Super Rugby cap.

The result keeps the Stormers on top of the South African conference and opens the gap against last year's Super Rugby champions the Bulls to 12 points.

The Stormers put in a solid performance but they will be disappointed with the way they let several tries go unscored which could have earned them the bonus point.

Gio Aplon in particular will not be pleased as he missed out on scoring two tries. Juan de Jongh could also have scored but tried to score under the posts on his way to the line and slipped. Instead he could have gone for the corner which was unmarked.

More to follow.

Final Score Lions 19 Stormers 33 


Tries - W. Whiteley
Pen - B Francis 3
Con - B Francis
Drop - B Francis
Cards - D La Grange

Tries - D Poolman, J Fourie , J Sadie
Pen -  G. Van Aswegen, L Cronje 3 
Con - D. Duvenage, L Cronje 2
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
Referee: Marius Jonker (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Stuart Berry (South Africa), Phillip Bosch (South Africa)
Television match official: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)

Man of the match: Andries Bekker


Lions : Jaco Taute, Michael Killian, Waylon Murray, Doppies la Grange (capt.), Deon van Rensburg, Burton Francis, Jano Vermaak, Warren Whiteley, Michael Rhodes, Cobus Grobbelaar, David de Villiers, Wikus van Heerden, Jacobie Adriaanse, Bandise Maku, JC Janse van Rensburg.

Replacements: Martin Bezuidenhout, Patric Cilliers, Franco van der Merwe, Dries van Schalkwyk, Rory Kockott, Elton Jantjies, Alwyn Hollenbach

Stormers :1. Wicus Blaauw,2. Deon Fourie,3. CJ van der Linde,4. De Kock Steenkamp,5. Andries Bekker,6. Schalk Burger (C),7. Francois Louw,8. Duane Vermeulen,9. Dewaldt Duvenage,10. Gary Van Aswegen,11. Gio Aplon,12. Juan de Jongh ,13. Jaque Fourie,14. Danie Poolman,15. Conrad Jantjes

Reserves:16. Ethienne Reynecke,17. Brok Harris,18. Anton Van Zyl,19. Nick Koster,20. Enrico Januarie,21. Lionel Cronje,22. Johann Sadie

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news