Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Bonus point Chiefs blow Blues away

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Friday 2 March 2012|

A revived Chiefs team rebounded from their loss last weekend to the Highlanders by hammering the Blues 29-14 in Hamilton.

The Chiefs became the first team in the 2012 Super Rugby season to secure a bonus point for four tries and they did it in half time.

Chiefs scrumhalf Tawera Kerr-Barlow scored a try in a brilliant attacking performance by the home side to record the first major upset of the new Super 15 rugby season.

Despite carrying several injuries from its first round loss to the Highlanders and playing in an intense rainstorm, the Chiefs scored four tries to bank a bonus point and to open an unbridgeable 29-6 lead by halftime.

The only points in the second half came from a try by Blues replacement Sherwin Stowers and a penalty to flyhalf Michael Hobbs; his third of the match.

But the damage of the first half was too much for the Blues to repair.

Kerr-Barlow, who started in place of injured Brendon Leonard, unlocked the attacking potential of the Chiefs team who have now won 1 and lost 1 after two rounds.

Kerr-Barlow, prop Sona Taumalolo and wingers Tim Nanai-Williams and Asaeli Tikorotuma - on debut - scored tries as every pass stuck for the Chiefs in the first half while Auckland foundered in the wet conditions.

The Chiefs had their first try after only five minutes when, from a penalty, flyhalf Aaron Cruden kicked deep and rolled the ball into touch eight meters from the right-hand corner flag. Clarke won the lineout and the low-slung Taumalolo fetched a lost ball and was driven over.

Tikoirotuma scored his first Super 15 try in the 23rd minute after fullback Robbie Robinson had made a searing run out of defense, taking advantage of a series of mismatches against tight forwards. Robinson drew the last defender and passed to Tikoirotuma who slid over in the left corner.

Kerr-Barlow repeatedly unlocked the Blues defence around rucks and mauls, despite the presence in the Blues team of All Blacks flankers Jerome Kaino and Daniel Braid and scrumhalf Piri Weepu.

He scored in the 30th minute after Nanai-Williams had broken the defense and the Chiefs No. 9 took the ball through the middle of the Auckland defense.

Nanai-Williams added the bonus point try in the 34th minute after Robinson had against launched an attack from depth, running 50 meters through bewildered defense.

Clarke carried play on and Nanai-Williams finished to give the Chiefs a 29-6 advantage.

Cruden converted to finish the first half with four goals from five attempts while the Blues' only points came from two Hobbs penalties.

The Blues have now slipped to an 0-2 record after the first-round loss to the Crusaders, and once again struggled in wet weather.

Their tight forwards have often been too loose to prosper in marginal conditions and their backs are brilliant but prone to handling errors with a slippery ball.

Final Score Chiefs 29 Blues 14


Tries - A Taumalolo, A Tikoirotuma, Kerr Barlow, T Nanai-Williams
Pen - A Cruden
Con - A Cruden 3
Drop -
Cards -

Tries - S Stowers
Pen - M Hobbs 3
Con -
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
Keith Brown
Assistant Ref 1:Jonathon White
Assistant Ref 2:Richard Kelly
TMO : Nick Briant



1. Arizona Taumalolo ,2. Mahonri Schwalger,3. Ben Tameifuna,4. Craig Clarke,5. Brodie Retallick ,6. Liam Messam ,7. Tanerau Latimer,8. Kane Thompson,9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow,10. Aaron Cruden,11. Tim Nanai-Williams,12. Sonny Bill Williams,13. Richard Kahui,14. Asaeli Tikoirotuma,15. Robbie Robinson

Replacements : 16. Hika Elliot,17. Shane Cleaver,18. Fritz Lee,19. Sam Cane,20. Augustine Pulu,21. Andrew Horrell,22. Declan O’Donnell


1. Tom McCartney,2. Keven Mealamu (c),3 Tevita Mailau,4. Anthony Boric,5. Ali Williams ,6. Chris Lowrey,7. Daniel Braid,8. Jerome Kaino,9. Alby Mathewson,10. Michael Hobbs ,11. Rudi Wulf,12. Benson Stanley,13. Rene Ranger,14. David Raikuna,15. Isaia Toeava

16 Pauliasi Manu,17 Angus Ta'avao (Debut Super Rugby game),18 Brad Mika,19 Luke Braid,20 Piri Weepu,21 Gareth Anscombe (Debut Super Rugby game),22 Sherwin Stowers

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news