Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Chiefs stay Super Rugby leaders with Sharks win

Man of the match Sam Cane crunches into a double Sharks tackle

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 21 April 2012|

The Chiefs remained on top of the Super Rugby standings after they beat the Sharks 12-18 in Durban on Saturday.

The victory means that the Chiefs went unbeaten on their tour and have now not lost in seven matches.

The Chiefs led the match throughout forcing the Sharks to chase the game and the visitors outscored the hosts by two tries to none.

The Sharks were however in the match right to the death when replacement scrumhalf Augustine Pulu scored a try after the hooter.

Chiefs fly half Aaron Cruden was unable to convert the try which would have cost the Sharks a losing bonus point.

The Sharks have a bye next week and then a run of matches at home in Durban having completed their tour.

Aaron Cruden scored 13 points for the Chiefs through a try, two penalties and a conversion.

All the Sharks' points came via the boot of Patrick Lambie and even though they picked up a consolation bonus point, they will rue missed chances in their first match at home after a tour of Australasia.

They had all the territorial advantage early on but were kept out by some steely Chiefs defence.

It took 12 minutes for the tourists to mount their first real attack, with Tawera Kerr-Barlow bursting through the middle.

After the ball was off-loaded to Asaeli Tikoirotuma on the left, however, the winger lacked support and eventually knocked on.

That was the start of a dominant period for the visitors and they made it count with a 19th minute opener from Cruden, who ran straight through a gap in defence after good phase play from his teammates.

The Chiefs number 10 comfortably converted, before adding another three points on the half-hour mark when Charl McLeod was caught offside.

The mistakes continued from the hosts, much to the frustration of coach John Plumtree.

But they finally had their first points in the final minute of the opening half when Lambie slotted over a penalty, awarded when Kerr-Barlow was penalised for playing the ball on the ground.

It was 10-3 at the break and straight after the restart the young Sharks flyhalf sent over another three points when Sonny Bill Williams failed to release in the tackle.

The Chiefs forwards were then penalised for collapsing the scrum, giving Lambie another shot at goal which he happily accepted, as the gap was reduced to one point.

However, Keegan Daniel failed to roll away from a ruck quickly enough, allowing the Chiefs another shot at goal that was sent over by Cruden.

The kicking battle continued when Lambie slotted over three more points for the home side, but he then missed a 50-metre penalty that would have put his team in front with 10 minutes remaining.

Both Lambie and Cruden missed penalties in the final 10 minutes, before Pulu sold a dummy and ran along the right touchline to score in the final phase of the game.

Final Score Sharks 12 (3) Chiefs 18 (10)


Tries -
Pen - P. Lambie 4
Con -
Drop -
Cards -

Tries - A. Cruden, A. Pulu
Pen - A. Cruden 2
Con - A. Cruden
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
Garratt Williamson
Assistant Ref 1:Keith Brown
Assistant Ref 2:Reuben Roussouw
TMO:Shaun Veldsman



1. Dale Chadwick , 2. Bismarck du Plessis , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 4. Steven Sykes , 5. Anton Bresler , 6. Jacques Botes , 7. Willem Alberts , 8. Keegan Daniel (Captain) , 9. Charl McLeod , 10. Patrick Lambie , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 12. Tim Whitehead , 13. JP Pietersen , 14. Louis Ludik , 15. Riaan Viljoen

Replacements , 16. Craig Burden , 17. Wiehahn Herbst , 18. Pieter-Steph du Toit , 19. Jean Deysel , 20. Marcell Coetzee , 21. Frederic Michalak , 22. Meyer Bosman


1. Arizona Taumalolo , 2. Mahonri Schwalger , 3. Ben Tameifuna , 4. Craig Clarke (c) , 5. Brodie Retallick , 6. Liam Messam , 7. Sam Cane , 8. Alex Bradley , 9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow , 10. Aaron Cruden , 11. Asaeli Tikoirotuma , 12. Sonny Bill Williams , 13. Richard Kahui , 14. Lelia Masaga , 15. Andrew Horrell

Replacements :16. Hika Elliot , 17. Josh Hohneck , 18. Michael Fitzgerald , 19. Tanerau Latimer , 20. Augustine Pulu , 21. Jackson Willison , 22. Robbie Robinson

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news