Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Brumbies name inexperienced team for Wales

Brumbies Prop Scott Sio will start against Wales

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Sunday 10 June 2012|

The Brumbies have named several ACT uncapped players in their team to play Wales at Canberra Stadium on Tuesday this week as as part of the Welsh Tour.

Tuesday's clash is a tremendous opportunity for all selected players to not only press their claim for the regular 22-man squad but also to test themselves against international opposition.

Wales is the current Six Nations Champion, a title it claimed undefeated and with only three tries being scored against it.

ACT sides have managed to down the Welsh on their last two trips to Canberra (1978, 21-20; 1996, 69-30) but with the tourists reeling from their loss to the Wallabies on Saturday night, Tuesday's clash shapes as one of the toughest in history.

Kimami Sitauti and Cam Crawford have both claimed wing spots for the match after turning in a series of quality performances in the John I Dent Cup. Other notable backs selections include Andrew Smith at inside centre, with Tevita Kuridrani running outside him in 13 and Robbie Coleman at fullback.

Looking for his first opportunity in a Brumbies jumper after defeating a series of injuries is Siliva Siliva (hooker), a former aged grade Australian representative who will come in to the action from the bench. Siliva joined the Brumbies fulltime squad at the end of 2011.

Scott Sio (tight-head prop) partners Anthony Hegarty (hooker) and Ruaidhri Murphy (loose-head prop) in the front row, with Ita Vaea at No 8, Colby Faingaa at open-side flanker and Peter Kimlin at blind-side flanker.

Vaea said it was a massive opportunity for everyone involved with the club.

"It's not every day we get to play against an International side, most of the boys have never played against a side like this," Vaea said.

"Doesn't matter who Wales pick, we know they are going to be tough. They're the current Six Nations Champions and you don't get there without depth.

"The boys are up for this one, it's come at a good time when there's not a lot of footy on so it's good to keep that momentum rolling."

The Brumbies locks will be Leon Power and Ben Hand, with Hand also being handed the honour of captaining the team against the Welsh touring side. On the bench, Tuggeranong Viking Beau Mokoputo will play back up to Ian Prior at scrumhalf while 2011 Australian Under 20's representative JP Pradaud will feature as the replacement prop.

Dylan Sigg (flanker), Fotu Auelua (No. 8) and Tom Cox (wing) will also be looking for opportunities from the bench.


1. Ruaidhri Murphy,2. Anthony Hegarty,3. Scott Sio,4. Leon Power,5. Ben Hand (c),6. Peter Kimlin,7. Colby Faingaa,8. Ita Vaea,9. Ian Prior,10. Zack Holmes,11. Kimami Sitauti,12. Andrew Smith,13. Tevita Kuridrani,14. Cam Crawford,15. Robbie Coleman

Replacements: 16. Siliva Siliva,17. Jean-Philippe (JP) Pradaud,18. Dylan Sigg,19. Fotu Auelua,20. Beau Mokoputo,21. Tom Cox,22. Jesse Mogg

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news