Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Stormers start Kolisi at No.8 against Lions

Siya Kolisi starts against the Lions at No.8

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Wednesday 27 June 2012|

Stormers coach Allister Coetzee has named his Super Rugby team to face the Lions at Newlands on Saturday with Siya Kolisi starting at No.8.

Kolisi starts at No 8 with Don Armand and Tyrone Holmes named as the starting flankers.

Last week's Springbok fullback Gio Aplon starts on the wing opposite Gerhand van den Heever on the other wing while Joe Pietersen is named at fullback.

With the back three places already full Bryan Habana has been rested but named on the bench.

Springbok and Stormers captain, Jean De Villiers, leads the side in jersey 12.

In the absence of Vermeulen, Burger and Koster (injury), and Elstadt (suspension), WP loose-forward, Tyrone Holmes, gets his first Stormers cap in jersey 6, whilst Don Armand who has already played 4 games for the Stormers this season from the bench, gets his first start.

Kolisi plays at 8, whilst Jebb Sinclair, who has just returned from playing internationals for Canada, provides cover from the bench.

Bekker and Steenkamp partner up at lock, with Quinn Roux providing cover from the bench. Eben Etzebeth (stiff ankle) is injured and is not included in the match 22.

Malherbe, Fourie and Carstens make up the front row, with Liebenberg, and Harris providing cover from the bench.

Steven Kitshoff, who featured prominently in the IRB Junior World Championships, is rested completely.


15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (captain), 11 Gerhard van den Heever, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Siya Kolisi, 7 Don Armand, 6 Tyrone Holmes, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 De Kock Steenkamp, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Deon Fourie, 1 Deon Carstens

Substitutes: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Quinn Roux, 19 Jebb Sinclair, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Burton Francis, 22 Bryan Habana

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news