Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Force shuffle back row for Blues clash

The Force prepare for kick off

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Wednesday 4 July 2012|

The Western Force side to face the Blues, at Eden Park on Saturday evening, has been named, with four changes to the run-on team and a revamped back row.
Angus Cottrell slots in at openside flanker in the absence of David Pocock, who was ruled out with a groin injury following last weekend's 28-17 loss to the Brumbies. Matt Hodgson also drops out of the team, having suffered an ankle strain, and is replaced by No. 8 Lachlan McCaffery. Blindside flanker Richard Brown also slots into the starting side's back row.

In other changes, Brett Sheehan returns at scrumhalf, ahead of Josh Holmes, and ex-Blues centre Winston Stanley earns his first call-up to face his former team.

Meanwhile, there are several of changes on the bench as hooker Ben Whittaker replaces Elvis Taione and Australian Under 20 flyhalf Kyle Goodwin returns to the wood after participating in the IRB Junior World Championship last month. Anare Koliavu joins prop Ruan Smith and lock Ollie Atkins as they look to celebrate their Super Rugby debuts.

Nathan Sharpe will captain the side in Pocock's absence.

Western Force:

1. Pek Cowan, 2. Nathan Charles, 3. Salesi Manu, 4. Toby Lynn, 5. Nathan Sharpe (c), 6. Richard Brown, 7. Angus Cottrell, 8. Lachlan McCaffery, 9. Brett Sheehan, 10. Ben Seymour, 11. Napolioni Nalaga, 12. Winston Stanley, 13. Will Tupou, 14. Nick Cummins, 15. Alfie Mafi.

Reserves: 16. Ben Whittaker, 17. Ruan Smith, 18. Ollie Atkins, 19. Anare Koliavu, 20. Josh Holmes, 21. Kyle Godwin, 22. Patrick Dellit.

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news