Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Ioane and Gill a welcome boost for Reds

Digby Ioane returns after missing two matches for the Reds

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Thursday 12 July 2012|

Reds coach Ewen McKenzie has named his side to take on the Waratahs in a mammoth Super Rugby clash in Brisbane this Saturday, with winger Digby Ioane and flanker Liam Gill offering a welcome boost after recovering from their respective injuries.

Ioane has missed the past two games after being diagnosed with pneumonia, while Gill strained his hamstring a fortnight ago. Both have been cleared to play and are joined by Beau Robinson and lock Rob Simmons, who have also overcome injury concerns.

McKenzie has maintained the successful combinations he has used since the June Test break. He has once again opted for continuity this week but has reverted to a forward-heavy split on the bench.

The Reds go into the match with a great deal of momentum, having won their past five Super Rugby games. The Waratahs, on the other hand, have lost seven games on the trot and will look to finish their lowly season on a high note.

The Brisbane side have a lot at stake this weekend as they not only vie to retain the Templeton Cup but also need to win this match, in order to stay in the running for a spot in the Super Rugby finals series.

A win for the Reds would apply pressure to a number of teams still in wildcard play-off contention, forcing the Crusaders, Bulls and Sharks to win their final regular season encounters to hold off the Queenslanders.


1. Greg Holmes, 2. Saia Faingaa, 3. James Slipper, 4. Rob Simmons, 5. Adam Wallace-Harrison (vc), 6. Jake Schatz, 7. Liam Gill, 8. Scott Higginbotham, 9. Will Genia (c), 10. Quade Cooper, 11. Digby Ioane, 12. Mike Harris, 13. Anthony Faingaa, 14. Dom Shipperley, 15. Luke Morahan.

Reserves: 16. James Hanson, 17. Ben Daley, 18. Radike Samo, 19. Beau Robinson, 20. Jarrad Butler, 21. Ben Lucas, 22. Ben Tapuai.

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news