Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Sharks beat Cheetahs in Durban

Super Rugby Live Scoring

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 14 July 2012|

The Sharks need to beat the Cheetahs - preferably with a bonus point - if they are to qualify for the Super Rugby play offs which start next weekend.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.
The Cheetahs kick off and we are underway.
2.00:The match starts with some intensity. Jannie du Plessis goes down injured  but gets back up. Prior to the match the Sharks lost the Beast.
4.00: The Cheetahs work the ball into the Sharks 22. They go through the phases on attack after winning the scrum. However the Sharks win a penalty. Lambie kicks for touch.
6.00: Sharks starting to gain more control of the game. They pin the Cheetahs back in their half.
7.00: Lambie tries an up and under but the Cheetahs win a penalty. There is a break in play as  Cheetahs player Sias Ebersohn gets come attention.
9.00: Both teams still testing each other out in this match.
10.00: The Sharks are on attack in the Cheetahs 25 but Willie le Roux poaches the ball from JP Pietersen and then he runs out of field and has to run into touch.
12.00: The Sharks win a penalty for not rolling away. They will kick for posts.
13.00; Michalak takes the kick and nails it. The Sharks lead.
15.00: Penalty to the Cheetahs. Riaan Smit takes the shot and nails it.
18.00: Frans Steyn is shown a yellow card after a spear tackle on Robert Ebersohn. The Cheetahs have a penalty. Riaan Smit takes the kick and nails it. The Cheetahs lead.
21.00: Heinrich Brussow goes down injured so the game is paused. While the game is paused  Izak van der Westhuizen is given a warning for a punch on Anton Bresler. Brussow gets up and carries on as the Sharks kick for touch and set up a line out.
24.00: The Cheetahs have another penalty so Smit lines up another kick. He nails this one as well.
26.00: Penalty to the Sharks for Brussow playing the ball on the ground. Lambie stays down after the players clear. He is holding his hamstring again. The Sharks kick for touch.
28.00: Even though Lambie is still being attended to the Sharks play the line out and run the ball.
30.00: Another penalty to the Sharks. Michalak takes the kick as Steyn comes back on. He nails the kick and cuts the deficit to three.
33.00: Penalty to the Cheetahs for playing the half back. Willem Alberts comes on for Pieter-Steph du Toit. Riaan Smit takes the kick and nails it.
36.00: The Sharks get some momentum going forward and look more dangerous than they have for all of the game. However they run out of space and the momentum fades. Bismarck du Plessis comes on. It seems John Plumtree is getting nervous and going to his bench early.
37.00: Penalty to the Sharks. Steyn kicks for touch to set up the line out.
38.00: The Cheetahs are in attack and they have the advantage. That becomes a penalty. Smit will kick for posts.
40.00: Smit takes the kick and nails it.
It's half time.

The half time score was Sharks 6 Cheetahs 15

The second half is underway.
40.00: Heinrich Brussow has been subbed for the second half.
43.00: The Sharks are playing the second half with much greater intensity. They get the ball into the Cheetahs 25. They win a penalty and take it quickly.
44.00: The Sharks move the ball down the line and Keegan Daniel goes over to score the first TRY of the match.
45.00: Michalak takes the conversion kick and nails it.
47.00: Penalty to the Cheetahs after Jannie du Plessis put a hand on the ground in the scrum. The Cheetahs kick for touch.
48.00: The Cheetahs win the line out but as they move forward Keegan Daniel wins a penalty for the Sharks. They kick for touch.
51.00: The Sharks look dangerous as they are in full attack. They go through several phases and Mvovo goes through and is away but he is called back for a forward pass. We go back for a scrum.
55.00: The Sharks are banging away at the Cheetahs defence. After several waves of attack Louis Ludik gets through but he loses possession and the ball goes from him to F Steyn and then Charl MacLeod knocks on.
58.00: JP Pietersen breaks through the Cheetahs defence and kicks across field and Charl MacLeod takes the ball knocks it on with his knee (a kick) and regathers the ball and places it down to score the TRY.
59.00: Michalak adds the conversion and the Sharks are in the lead.
61.00: The Sharks suddenly have a bucket of confidence. They are finding holes and this time Marcell Coetzee scores the third TRY.
62.00: Michalak adds the conversion.
64.00: Penalty to the Sharks. Frans Steyn takes the kick but misses.
67.00: The Cheetahs are really missing Heinrich Brussow at the breakdown. His absence and JP Pietersen's form have turned the game. The Sharks are playing a territorial game now.
71.00: The Sharks intensity has dropped so they may be playing for the victory without the bonus point so that they get a favourable opponent next week.
74.00: The above comment was clearly commentators curse as the Sharks spread the ball wide and Ryan Kankowski races away and scores the bonus point TRY under the posts.
75.00: Michalak adds the conversion.
78.00: The Sharks have gotten over their nerves and are playing the ball with great confidence. They win a penalty and will kick for posts in order to use up time.
79.00: Michalak misses the kick.
80.00: The siren sounds for full time. We play on. The Cheetahs have a penalty. They run the ball but can't get through. Another penalty is awarded. They play on.
81.00: Cheetahs get up to the tryline. They knock on, that's it. Sharks win.
The full time is Sharks 34 (6) Cheetahs 15 (15)

Tries - K Daniel, C McLeod, M Coetzee. R Kankowski
Pen - F Michalak 2
Con - F Michalak 4
Drop -
Cards - F Steyn (18th min yellow)

Tries -
Pen - R Smit 5
Con -
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 1:Marius Jonker
Assistant Ref 2:Reuben Rossouw
TMO : Gerrie Coetzee



1. Lewis Chadwick , 2. Craig Burden , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 4. Jandre Marais , 5. Anton Bresler , 6. Keegan Daniel ( C ) , 7. Marcell Coetzee , 8. Ryan Kankowski , 9. Charl McLeod , 10. Frederic Michalak , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 12. Francois Steyn , 13. Tim Whitehead , 14. JP Pietersen , 15. Patrick Lambie

Replacements:, 16. Bismarck du Plessis, 17. Wiehahn Herbst , 18. Pieter-Steph du Toit / Jean Deysel, 19. Willem Alberts , 20. Jacques Botes , 21. Meyer Bosman / Paul Jordaan, 22. Louis Ludik,


Willie le Roux, Nico Scheepers, Robert Ebersohn, Barry Geel, Philip Snyman, Riaan Smit, Piet van Zyl, Boom Prinsloo, Lappies Labuschagne, Heinrich Brussow, Izak van der Westhuizen, Andries Ferreira, WP Nel, Adriaan Strauss (captain), Trevor Nyakane.

Replacements: Hercu Liebenberg, Marcel van der Merwe, Waltie Vermeulen, Ashley Johnson, Jacques Coetzee, Sias Ebersohn, Andries Strauss.

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news