Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Sharks beat Cheetahs and book play off place

Marcell Coetzee and Charl MacLeod both scored tries for the Sharks

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 14 July 2012|

The Sharks booked a place in the play offs next week by beating the Cheetahs 34-15 with a bonus point at Kings Park Stadium in Durban.

The result brings an end to the Hurricanes season while the Brumbies are still clinging to the final place although the Bulls are strong favourites to knock them out in their match against the Lions.

The Sharks started the match having dropped to eigth place in the Super Rugby standings but the result moves them back into the play off places.

The Sharks will have to wait for the Bulls match to be completed before their opponents are confirmed for next week.

The Cheetahs controlled the match in the first half and led 6-15 at half time before they lost Heinrich Brussow to injury.

The Sharks played with much greater intensity in the second half without Brussow on the field and won the second half 28-0.

Tries from Keegan Daniel, Charl McLeod, Marcell Coetzee and Ryan Kankowski helped the Sharks mount a strong second-half recovery.

The home side's interest in the competition looked to be quickly slipping away after the opening 40 minutes as they trailed 15-6 thanks to five penalties from the boot of Cheetahs flyhalf Riaan Smit.

But a strong half-time talk from coach John Plumtree seemed to have reinvigorated them and they picked up 28 unanswered points in the second period.

It took the better part of 15 minutes before the deadlock was broken following a physical start, during which both packs tried to assert their dominance.

The coastal outfit went ahead via a 12th minute Frederic Michalak penalty after WP Nel failed to roll away following the first real passage of attacking play from the Sharks.

But the visitors hit back immediately after Coetzee did the same at the other end, with Smit popping over a kick from right in front.

The Cheetahs number 10 put his side in front after 19 minutes when Frans Steyn was sent to the sin bin for a dangerous tackle on Robert Ebersohn.

Lwazi Mvovo was next to err for the home side, who looked to be getting increasingly frustrated by their lack of possession, and after the winger failed to release, Smit stretched the gap further for his side.

When the Sharks finally managed to get forward, on the half-hour mark, they were awarded a penalty, with Heinrich Brussow illegally stealing the ball as Michalak cut the deficit.

McLeod, however, played his opposite number, Piet van Zyl, off the ball in front of the posts moments later, and replacement Willem Alberts gave away another kickable penalty on the stroke of half-time. Both were slotted over by Smit, giving the Free Staters a nine-point cushion at the interval.

Plumtree's men came out firing after the restart, though, and Daniel scored his sixth try of the season in the 44th minute when he was on the end of an attacking move that began at the kick-off as he went over on the left.

The hosts scored twice more, on either side of the hour mark. JP Pietersen's burst and kick-ahead first allowed McLeod to cross, before Coetzee sliced through the middle to score underneath the posts.

Kankowski added a bonus-point try when he broke away from the left six minutes from the end to score under the posts and seal the win.

Final Score Sharks 34 (6) Cheetahs 15 (15)


Tries - K Daniel, C McLeod, M Coetzee. R Kankowski
Pen - F Michalak 2
Con - F Michalak 4
Drop -
Cards - F Steyn (18th min yellow)

Tries -
Pen - R Smit 5
Con -
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
Jaco Peyper
Assistant Ref 1:Marius Jonker
Assistant Ref 2:Reuben Rossouw
TMO : Gerrie Coetzee



1. Lewis Chadwick , 2. Craig Burden , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 4. Jandre Marais , 5. Anton Bresler , 6. Keegan Daniel ( C ) , 7. Marcell Coetzee , 8. Ryan Kankowski , 9. Charl McLeod , 10. Frederic Michalak , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 12. Francois Steyn , 13. Tim Whitehead , 14. JP Pietersen , 15. Patrick Lambie

Replacements:, 16. Bismarck du Plessis, 17. Wiehahn Herbst , 18. Pieter-Steph du Toit / Jean Deysel, 19. Willem Alberts , 20. Jacques Botes , 21. Meyer Bosman / Paul Jordaan, 22. Louis Ludik,


Willie le Roux, Nico Scheepers, Robert Ebersohn, Barry Geel, Philip Snyman, Riaan Smit, Piet van Zyl, Boom Prinsloo, Lappies Labuschagne, Heinrich Brussow, Izak van der Westhuizen, Andries Ferreira, WP Nel, Adriaan Strauss (captain), Trevor Nyakane.

Replacements: Hercu Liebenberg, Marcel van der Merwe, Waltie Vermeulen, Ashley Johnson, Jacques Coetzee, Sias Ebersohn, Andries Strauss.

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news