Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Sharks beat Reds in Brisbane

Super Rugby Live Scores

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 21 July 2012|

Out of the last six Super Rugby matches between the Reds and the Sharks, the Sharks have won five and the Reds have won one.

Match details

We are waiting for the kick-off.
0.00: Mike Harris gets proceedings under way as he kicks off for the Reds at Suncorp Stadium.
1.00: There is a strong start from the Reds who work their way inside the opposition 22 immediately. The Sharks are able to tackle the home side into touch, however, and the home side will have the throw-in at a lineout just 20m from their own line.
3.00: The Sharks knock on inside their own half and the Reds will feed the first scrum of the match.
5.00: Mike Harris makes a break out wide before opting to punt the ball into space down field.
8.00: The Sharks work through phases inside the Reds' half. Keegan Daniel makes a break to get within 5m of the line but the Reds are penalised and Frederic Michalak will line up a kick at goal from 22m out.
9.00: Michalak slots the kick, handing the Sharks an early lead.
10.00: The Sharks generate quick ball and string together phases inside the Reds' 22.. JP Pietersen makes a break for the corner and dots down for the Sharks' opening try.
12.00: Michalak converts the try.
13.00: The Reds work their way up inside the Sharks' 22 but Mike Harris is dragged into touch and the Sharks will have a throw-in at a defensive lineout.
15.00: The Reds' lineout throw is not straight and the visitors feed a defensive scrum.
18.00: The Sharks are put under pressure off the back of a lineout inside their own 22. The Reds affect a turnover and begin stringing together phases as they generate quick ball.
21.00: Ben Lucas is assisted from the field with a severe ankle injury. The Reds have a throw-in at a lineout inside opposition territory as they look to string together phases.
22.00: Paul Jordaan runs a good line and makes a strong break for the Sharks. He dots down for the visitors' second try of the match.
23.00: Michalak converts the try.
26.00: The Sharks are penalised for not releasing. Harris will line up a kick at goal from 40m out.
27.00: Harris slots the kick, reducing the deficit.
29.00: The Sharks are once again camped inside the opposition 22. Michalak drops back into the pocket and slots a drop goal for the visitors.
31.00: The Sharks are penalised at the breakdown inside Reds territory. Harris kicks for touch.
35.00: The Reds get within 5m of the line but are penalised. Michalak clears to relieve the pressure.
37.00: Will Genia dots down for the Reds' first try after a strong break by Scott Higginbotham down the touchline.
38.00: Harris converts the try.
The half time score was Reds 10 Sharks 20.
40.00: Michalak gets the second half under way as he kicks off for the Sharks.
41.00: The Sharks are penalised early on inside their own territory. Harris will line up a kick at goal.
42.00: Harris' kick drifts wide.
43.00: Charl McLeod runs over 60m after he intercepts a pass by Will Genia and dots down for the Sharks' third try.
44.00: Michalak converts the try.
46.00: The Reds are camped inside the opposition 22 as they string together phases just 5m from the line. The visitors are able to affect a turnover, however, and will feed a defensive scrum.
51.00: The Reds get within a metre of the line as they string together phases and put the Sharks' defensive line under immense pressure.
56.00: The Reds are awarded a penalty just 5m from the line and opt for the scrum. They lose the ball forward however and the Sharks will feed a defensive scrum. McLeod's throw off the back of the scrum misses Michalak and rolls over the dead ball line. The Reds will feed another 5m scrum.
57.00: The Reds are able to get over the line but the TMO rules there is inconclusive evidence and the Reds will feed yet another 5m scrum.
60.00: The Reds are penalised inside opposition territory. The visitors clear.
64.00: The Sharks makes a strong break as they dart through several Reds defenders. Bismarck du Plessis breaks and off loads to Meyer Bosman who knocks the ball on just 1m from the line.
68.00: The Sharks work their way up inside the Reds' 22 once more. The Reds are able to affect a turnover and build phases from half way.
72.00: The Reds work their way inside the opposition 22. They get within 2m of the line before the Sharks are penalised. Digby Ioande takes it quickly but loses it forward and the Sharks miss out on a vital scoring opportunity.
75.00: The home side string together phases inside opposition territory. Digby Ioane breaks but Louis Ludik makes a brilliant tackle to save a potential Reds try.
76.00: The Reds are penalised on their own 22m line for holding on. Michalak will line up a kick to wind down the clock.
77.00: Michalak slots the kick, extending the Sharks' lead.
79.00: The Reds work their way inside the opposition 22 but the Sharks' defence remains impenetrable. The visitors are penalised for going off their feet and the Reds take it quickly.
80.00: The hooter sounds as Radike Samo crosses over the line for the Reds. Genia converts the try.
The final score is Reds 17 Sharks 30.


Tries - W. Genia, R. Samo
Pen - M. Harris
Con - M. Harris, W. Genia
Drop -
Cards -

Tries - JP. Pietersen, P. Jordaan, C. McLeod
Pen - F. Michalak 2
Con - F. Michalak 3
Drop - F. Michalak
Cards -

Match Officials
: Jonathan Kaplan
Assistant Ref 1:Craig Joubert
Assistant Ref 2: James Leckie
TMO : Matt Goddard



1. Tendai Mtawarira, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 4. Willem Alberts, 5. Anton Bresler, 6. Keegan Daniel (c), 7. Marcell Coetzee, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 9. Charl McLeod, 10. Frederic Michalak, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 12. Tim Whitehead, 13. Paul Jordaan, 14. JP Pietersen, 15. Louis Ludik.

Replacements: 16. Craig Burden, 17. Wiehahn Herbst, 18. Steven Sykes, 19. Jacques Botes, 20. Cobus Reinach, 21. Meyer Bosman, 22. Odwa Ndungane.


1. Greg Holmes, 2. Saia Faingaa, 3. James Slipper, 4. Rob Simmons, 5. Adam Wallace-Harrison (vc), 6. Jake Schatz, 7. Liam Gill, 8. Scott Higginbotham, 9. Will Genia (c), 10. Ben Lucas, 11. Digby Ioane, 12. Mike Harris, 13. Anthony Faingaa, 14. Dom Shipperley, 15. Luke Morahan.

Replacements: 16. James Hanson, 17. Ben Daley, 18. Radike Samo, 19. Beau Robinson, 20. Jarrad Butler, 21. Nick Frisby, 22. Ben Tapuai.

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news