Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Sharks make one change for the Stormers

Tim Whitehead will start the Sharks Semi-final at number 13

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Wednesday 25 July 2012|

The Sharks have named their team to face the Stormers in a Super Rugby Semi-final at Newlands in Cape Town with one change to the starting team that beat the Reds in Brisbane.

Sharks coach John Plumtree has been forced into change through injury as Paul Jordaan failed a late fitness test (hamstring) so Tim Whitehead comes in to the starting line up at 13.

Plumtree has tinkered with the bench as he has opted for a five-two split with Jean Deysel returning to the squad in place of Cobus Reinach.

In the reserve backs Riaan Viljoen comes into Meyer Bosman's place. Patrick Lambie was in a race against time with an ankle injury but lost the race so he misses the match.

Plumtree said that he expects another massive defensive performance from the Stormers who have scored the fewest number of tries in the tournament despite a potent backline.

"They don't change too much in what they do, but what they do is really efficient," said Plumtree on the Sharks site.

"They work really hard defensively, their defence has been talked about enough, it's a wall that's hard to break down. "

"Their lineout is really big, they have an unfair advantage with some monsters there, their setpiece is something they rely on, they gain a lot of confidence out of winning a territory game, they don't mind kicking out because they attack the opposition lineout.

"There are trends about them that are really consistent. "

"They have a real belief in what they do, their leadership is clearly very strong because they get out there and play consistent rugby each week, that's why they finished top, that's why they're in a situation where, if they beat us, they get a home final.

"They also feed off the fact that they have a lot of good players but don't have as many Boks as some of the other teams. That motivates them as well."

The Sharks

1. Tendai Mtawarira , 2. Bismarck du Plessis , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 4. Willem Alberts , 5. Anton Bresler , 6. Keegan Daniel (Captain) , 7. Marcell Coetzee , 8. Ryan Kankowski , 9. Charl McLeod , 10. Frederic Michalak , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 12. Meyer Bosman , 13. Tim Whitehead , 14. JP Pietersen , 15. Louis Ludik

Replacements , 16. Craig Burden , 17. Wiehahn Herbst , 18. Steven Sykes , 19. Jean Deysel , 20. Jacques Botes , 21. Odwa Ndungane , 22. Riaan Viljoen

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news