Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Sharks end Super Rugby warm ups on a high

Marcell Coetzee in action for the Sharks

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Friday 15 February 2013|

The Sharks ended their Super Rugby warm up campaign with a 50-19 victory over the Pumas at KaNyamazane Stadium on Friday evening.

The Sharks played the Leopards last week and came away with a 71-8 victory but picked up a number of high profile injuries including the loss of captain Keegan Daniel.

This week the Sharks again started strongly and went out to a 12-0 lead after scoring two early tries one of which was converted.

The Pumas hit back with a try of their own after just under 30 minutes of the match had passed.

Both teams then added a try a piece taking the score to 19-14 but then the Sharks started to pull away by scoring two further tries to take the score to 31-14.

Sharks coach John Plumtree made a number of changes as the match continued in order to ensure that everyone got a run.

In the second half the Sharks really opened up and managed to get to the half century mark but then the Pumas scored a consolation try at the death.

"It was a step-up from last week which is exactly what I wanted," said coach John Plumtree after the game.

Plumtree said that in contrast to last week there were no further injury concerns ahead of their Super Rugby kick off against the Cheetahs.

Final Score Sharks 50 Pumas 19


To follow.



15 Louis Ludik, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Francois Steyn (c), 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Marcell Coetzee, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Anton Bresler, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.

Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Allan Dell, 18 Wiehahn Herbst, 19 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 20 Lubabalo Mtembu, 21 Charl McLeod, 22 Meyer Bosman, 23 Odwa Ndungane, 24 Riaan Viljoen


15 Carl Bezuidenhout, 14 Deon Scholtz, 13 Stefan Watermeyer, 12 Dewald Pretorius, 11 Rosco Speckman, 10 Tiaan Marx, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Doppies le Roux, 7 RW Kember, 6 Uzair Cassiem, 5 Eduan van der Walt, 4 Rudi Mathee, 3 Ivann Espag, 2 Jacques Momberg, 1 Vincent Koch.

Replacements: 16 Frank Hearne, 17 Drew van Coller, 18 De Jay Terblanche, 19 Corné Fourie, 20 Boela Serfontein, 21 Yaya Hartzenberg, 22 Reynier van Rooyen, 23 Coenie van Wyk, 24 Danwel Demas.

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news