Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Chiefs beat Hurricanes in Super Rugby warm up

Could Tim Nanai-Williams be the Chiefs new Sonny Bill Williams at centre ?

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 16 February 2013|

The Chiefs beat the Hurricanes 25-21 in a Super Rugby warm up match held at the Mangatainoka RFC on Saturday.

The Chiefs experimented with their players and Tim Nanai-Williams took to the field at centre and he went on to score a try in the trial match.n

The victory means that the Chiefs have gone through their pre-season without a loss.

The Chiefs dominated most of the match and went out to a 10-0 lead by half time following a try from halfback Tawera Kerr-Barlow and another from winger Asaeli Tikoirotuma.

The Chiefs continued to run away with the match in the second half and Bundee Aki scored the first try of the half which took them to a 17-0 lead.

Hurricane winger Julian Savea got his team on the scoreboard and then after some substitutions Ardie Savea and Faifili Levave added tries.

With the scores at 22-21 Gareth Anscombe edged the Chiefs further ahead with the final score of the match.

Final score Chiefs 25 (10) Hurricanes 21 (0)


Tries : Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Asaeli Tikoirituma, Bundee Aki, Tim Nanai-Williams
Pen : Gareth Anscombe
Con: Gareth Anscombe

Tries : Julian Savea, Ardie Savea, Faifili Levave
Pen : -
Con: Beauden Barrett, James Marshall 2



1. Pauliasi Manu , 2. Hika Elliot , 3. Ben Afeaki , 4. Craig Clarke (c) , 5. Mike Fitzgerald , 6. Nick Crosswell , 7. Tanerau Latimer , 8. Fritz Lee , 9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow , 10. Aaron Cruden , 11. Asaeli Tikoirotuma , 12. Bundee Aki , 13. Tim Nanai-Williams , 14. Lelia Masaga , 15. Gareth Anscombe

Replacements: Mahonri Schwalger, Toby Smith, Romana Graham, Sam Cane, Augustine Pulu, Maritino Nemani, Ross Filipo, Rhys Marshall, Brodie Retallick, Liam Messam, Patrick Osborne and Ben Tameifuna


1 Ben Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 3 Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 5 Jason Eaton, 6 Victor Vito, 7 Karl Lowe, 8 Brad Shields, 9 TJ Perenara, 10 Beauden Barrett, 11 Julian Savea, 12 Reynold LeeLo, 13 Conrad Smith (c), 14 Matt Proctor, 15 Andre Taylor

Replacements : 16 Ash Dixon, 17 Ben May, 18 Reggie Goodes, 19 James Broadhurst, 20 Mark Reddish, 21 Blade Thomson, 22 Ardie Savea, 23 Faifili Levave, 24 Mike Coman, 25 Chris Smylie, 26 James Marshall, 27 Tim Bateman, 28 Ope Peleseuma, 29 Richard Buckman

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news