Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Sharks beat Rebels in Durban

Live Super Rugby scoring !

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 23 March 2013|

The Sharks missed out on playing the Rebels in 2012 so the only time the teams have met in Super Rugby was the Rebels fourth round match during 2011 in Melbourne.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.
0.01: Pat Lambie kicks off and we are underway.
1.30: The Sharks win a penalty almost straight away and while it's in front of the posts it is into a strong wind. Lambie takes the shot and he misses.
3.00: The Sharks knock on after the restart so the Rebels have a scrum. They win the scrum but they can't clear the ball and the Sharks almost get away with an Mvovo intercept but he knocks the ball on.  
6.00: The Sharks win a scrum and Keegan Daniel fires out the back, he is tackled but get the ball away and the Sharks move the ball to the far side and Louis Ludik goes over in the corner. TRY!
7.00: Pat Lambie takes the conversion kick from almost the touchline and into the wind. He nails it.
11.00: The Rebels have the ball in the Sharks 22. They drive forward but lose the ball forward too so the Sharks have a scrum just inside their 22.
13.00: Penalty to the Rebels as JP Pietersen was in front of the kicker (offside). They take a scrum in front of the posts.
15.00: Lwazi Mvovo goes high for a ball and Mitch Inman tackles him perfectly in terms of timing. However Mvovo loses the ball. The Sharks win the ensuing scrum and attack.
16.00: Penalty to the Sharks for not rolling away. Lambie kicks for touch and goes touch in goal (too deep) so we have a scrum.
19.00: The Sharks take a quick line out and the Rebels get back to defend but they concede a penalty so Lambie takes penalty. He misses.
21.00: Penalty to the Sharks again. Lambie kicks for touch and sets up a line out 5m out.
22.00: The Sharks then win another penalty 5m out and again they take the line out. They set up the maul and drive over the line. TRY to Marcell Coetzee.
23.00: Lambie nails the conversion.
25.00: The Rebels make a break and High Pyle makes plenty of ground for the Rebels but Pieter-Steph du Toit manages to stop the attack. However the game is paused as Cobus Reinach lifted his opposite number in a tackle. Earlier games today have seen those tackles being rewarded with a yellow card. The TMO decides that a yellow card will be given to Cobus Reinach. Meanwhile Ryan Kankowski replaces Marcell Coetzee.
27.00: After the game resumes we have a touch judge calling for an incident. There was a reckless kick at a ruck by Cooper Vuna so the Sharks have a penalty.
28.00: There is lost of off the ball stuff going on in this match. A fight looks certain to kick off sometime. The Sharks win a penalty in front of the posts and due to the wind they kick for the corner.
29.00: Sharks win the line out and get the maul going. This time the Rebels keep the Sharks out.
30.00: Another 5m line out and the Sharks set the maul, drive over and . Jacques Botes scores the TRY!
31.00: The Sharks have scored as many tries today as they have all season. Their total is now six. Lambie's conversion kicks hits the post.
33.00: Penalty to the Sharks. They kick for the corner.
34.00: Sharks win the line out and after some phase play Keegan Daniel snipes and scores the bonus point try! Sharks were probably lucky being awarded that try as Daniel dropped the ball before he went over and landed on it. They didn't call for the TMO so they were lucky.
36.00: Lambie misses the conversion.
38.00: Sharks attacking again. They get to the 5m line but the Rebels hold them out. The whistle goes and the Sharks kick for touch again.
39.00: The Sharks win the line out but this time they get pinged for truck and trailer. The Rebels kick for touch.
40.00: The hooter goes for half time. It is half time.
The half time score is Sharks 24 Rebels 0
The Second half is underway.
41.00: The Sharks get the perfect start as Kyle Cooper races away and scores the fifth Sharks try.
42.00: Meyer Bosman adds the conversion.
44.00: The Rebels go through 14 phases of play and then Cobus Reinach  gets the intercept and races away to score another Sharks try.
45.00: Meyer Bosman nails the conversion.
47.00: The Sharks won the ball over the line again but this time we go upstairs to check. Tendai Mtawarira drives over the line and scores his first Super Rugby try. The TMO confirms it.
48.00: Meyer Bosman adds the conversion.
49.00: The game is held up while the referee gets a new microphone.
50.00: The Sharks are really opening up now. Ryan Kankowski races through and scores their eighth try. Bosman adds the conversion.
54.00: The Sharks break through again as Louis Ludik goes over for try number 9. Bosman adds the conversion.
56.00: Riaan Viljoen replaces Pat Lambie.
57.00: Penalty to the Sharks. Before that can happen though we visit the TMO and James O'Connor is yellow carded for a lifting tackle.
58.00: The Sharks open up the Rebels again and this time Riaan Viljoen scores try number 10 which is a record for the number of tries scored by the Sharks. Meyer Bosman misses the conversion.
63.00: The Rebels look to have finally gotten on to the scoreboard but the TMO review shows that Frans Steyn prevented Gareth Delve from getting the ball down so no try. 5m scrum.
64.00: The Rebels win the scrum and go to the blindside but they are driven into touch. Still no points.
65.00: The Rebels get James O'Connor back as they have a 5m line out. They win a penalty and drive for the line but are held up. Another 5m scrum.
67.00: The Rebels are camped on the Sharks tryline but they can't get over. It's all Rebels attack. Penalty to the Rebels and they take it quick and Scott Higginbotham scores to get the Rebels some points. James O'Connor adds the conversion.
75.00: The Sharks appear to be happy with their score as they are allowing the Rebels to play most of the rugby. They go through 12 phases but then the Sharks turn it over. 
78.00: Sharks seem happy to let the Rebels wind the clock down.
80.20: The siren goes but we have time for a scrum. The Sharks attack but the whistle goes. It's full time.
The full time score is Sharks 64 (24) Rebels 7 (0)


Tries - L Ludik, M Coetzee, J. Botes, K Daniel, K Cooper, C. Reinach, T. Mtawarira, R. Kankowski. L. Ludik, R Viljoen
Pen -
Con - P Lambie 2, M Bosman 5
Drop -
Cards - C. Reinach (26th min Yellow) 

Tries - S Higginbotham.
Pen -
Con - J.O'Connor
Drop -
Cards - James O'Connor (57th min yellow)

Match Officials
Lourens van der Merwe
Assistant Ref 1:Stuart Berry
Assistant Ref 2:Reuben Rossouw
TMO : Shaun Veldsman



1. Tendai Mtawarira , 2. Kyle Cooper , 3. Wiehahn Herbst , 4. Pieter-Steph du Toit , 5. Franco van der Merwe , 6. Jacques Botes , 7. Marcell Coetzee , 8. Keegan Daniel (Captain) , 9. Cobus Reinach , 10. Patrick Lambie , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 12. Meyer Bosman , 13. Paul Jordaan , 14. JP Pietersen , 15. Louis Ludik

Replacements , 16. Craig Burden , 17. Jannie du Plessis , 18. Jandre Marais , 19. Ryan Kankowski , 20. Charl McLeod , 21. Francois Steyn , 22. Riaan Viljoen


1. Nic Henderson,2. Ged Robinson,3. Laurie Weeks,4. Hugh Pyle,5. Luke Jones,6. Scott Higginbotham,7. Scott Fuglistaller,8. Gareth Delve (c),9. Nick Phipps,10. James O'Connor,11. Cooper Vuna,12. Lachlan Mitchell,13. Mitch Inman,14. Jason Woodward,15. Angus Roberts

16. Shota Horie,17. Paul Alo-Emile,18. Cadeyrn Neville,19. Jordy Reid,20. Nic Stirzaker,21. Rory Sidey,22. Richard Kingi.

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news