Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Brumbies beat Bulls in Canberra

Live Super Rugby scoring !

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 30 March 2013|

The Brumbies have played the Bulls 14 times since they started playing each other in 1998 and the Brumbies have won 8 and lost six matches.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.
Morne Steyn (in pink) kicks off and we are underway.
1.00: The teams use the high ball early but Kirchner knocks on so we have a scrum.
2.00: Brumbies win the first scrum and attack. As they get to the 22 the Brumbies concede a penalty for not releasing.
3.00: Kirchner kicks for touch to set the line out up.
4.00: Penalty again for the Bulls as the Brumbies are not releasing. Steyn kicks for touch.
5.00: Another penalty for the Bulls as George Smith enters the ruck from the side. Steyn will kick for posts from about 45m out.
6.00: Steyn takes the kick and misses.
8.00: The Bulls attack but they concede a penalty for not releasing. Brumbies kick for touch.
11.00: Penalty on the half way line for the Brumbies. They will kick for posts.
12.00: Nick White takes the kick but misses.
13.00: Penalty to the Bulls so Steyn kicks for touch. The Bulls win the line out but they knock on after so the Brumbies get a defensive scrum just outside their 22.
15.00: Penalty to the Brumbies from the scrum. They kick for touch.
17.00: Brumbies win the lineout and then at the breakdown the Bulls concede a penalty. The Brumbies will kick for posts.
18.00: Christian Lealiifano takes the kick and slots it. The Brumbies lead.
20.00: Penalty at the breakdown for the Bulls. Steyn will attempt to level the scores.
21.00: Steyn takes the kick and he slots it. The scores are level. 
22.00: Penalty against the Bulls (Stegmann at the breakdown). Nic White will go for posts.
23.00: Nic White misses. His first shot had the distance but not the direction. This one is the other way around.
28.00: Brumbies playing the game mostly in the Bulls half. It's a slow game though.
31.00: Penalty to the Brumbies. They will kick for posts. The Bulls scrum is struggling. Lealiifano takes the kick and curls it in. The Brumbies lead again.
34.00: The Bulls concede another penalty and get a warning for slowing the ball down at the breakdown. They are told the next one will go to the sin bin.
36.00: Lealiifano lines up the penalty kick and nails it.
38.00: George Smith steals the ball and the Brumbies kick downfield. They get the ball into the Bulls 22. The Bulls win the line out and Steyn kicks for touch.
39.00: Brumbies looking a little more dangerous with the ball than the Bulls. They are attacking just inside the Bulls half. A small break gets then over and into the 22. The half time siren sounds.
40.00: Brumbies continue to drive forward. Brumbies keep the ball alive going through the phases and then after 19 phases Robbie Coleman reaches out and scores the first TRY!
41.00: Lealiifano takes the conversion. He is almost charged down but it hits the post. It is half time.
The half time score was Brumbies 14 Bulls 3
The Brumbies kick off and we are underway.
42.00: Penalty at the line out for the Bulls. Steyn kicks for touch and sets up a line out in the Brumbies half.
43.00: Bulls win the line out and at the breakdown they win a penalty. Steyn kicks for touch instead of going for posts.
45.00: The Bulls work the ball up to the Brumbies 5m line. They go through a few recycles and then Lionel Mapoe goes over to score the try. However we go upstairs and the replay shows he lost the ball. TMO rules it was lost forward.
46.00: The Brumbies have a defensive scrum on the 5m line. They win the scrum and kick it out but it goes to Kirchner.
49.00: The Bulls keep the ball alive on attack a Jurgen Visser sells a dummy and then goes inside and scores the first Bulls TRY!
50.00: Steyn's conversion kick goes in off the post.
52.00: Brumbies on attack. They get the ball almost to the 5m line but then they concede a penalty. Steyn clears with a kick into touch.
54.00: Penalty to the Bulls. Steyn bangs it over to cut the gap to one point.
59.00 : Brumbies work the ball down into the Bulls half. They knock on though so the Bulls have a scrum. Spies breaks off the back of the scrum and the Bulls kick upfield. The Brumbies knock on.
61.00; Penalty to the Bulls. They kick for touch.
62.00: The line out is not straight so the Brumbies get the put in at the scrum.
63.00: Penalty at the scrum. Morne Mellett is shown a yellow card. The Brumbies use the penalty to kick for touch.
65.00: Brumbies running the ball trying to suck in the Bulls as they have the extra man. Kimlin drops the ball and the Bulls kick the ball downfield.
67.00: Kirchner goes to clear with a kick but slices it and it goes out on the full.
68.00: Brumbies trying to lift the tempo now. It produces results as they win a penalty. Steyn not rolling away. Lealiifano will kick for posts.  
69.00: Lealiifano slots the penalty. The Brumbies lead by 4.
72.00: The Bulls scrum concedes another penalty. The Brumbies get another shot at the posts.
73.00: Lealiifano takes the shot and nails it. Brumbies lead by 7.
76.00: Bulls concede another penalty so the Brumbies kick for touch.
78.00: The Bulls get a break as Frik Kirsten gets through. The Bulls send the ball wide to JJ Engelbrecht who races away and scores in the corner. TRY!
79.00: Steyn will take the conversion kick to level the scores. He nails it. The scores are level.
80.00: We have time for the restart. After the restart the Brumbies win a penalty. 41m out. Lealiifano has to kick for victory!
Lealiifano takes the shot and nail it. The Brumbies win !
The full time score is Brumbies 23 (14) Bulls 20 (3)


Tries - R Coleman
Pen - C. Lealiifano 6
Con -
Drop -
Cards -

Tries -J Visser, JJ Engelbrecht  
Pen - M.Steyn 2
Con - M Steyn
Drop -
Cards - M.Mellet (63rd min yellow)

Match Officials
: Jonathon White
Assistant Ref 1:Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 2:Rohan Hoffmann
TMO : Matt Goddard



1. Ben Alexander , 2. Stephen Moore , 3. Dan Palmer , 4. Scott Fardy , 5. Etienne Oosthuizen , 6. Peter Kimlin , 7. George Smith , 8. Ben Mowen (c) , 9. Nic White , 10. Matt Toomua , 11. Joe Tomane , 12. Christian Lealiifano , 13. Tevita Kuridrani , 14. Henry Speight , 15. Robbie Coleman

Replacements: 16. Siliva Siliva , 17. Scott Sio , 18. Fotu Auelua , 19. Colby Faingaa , 20. Ian Prior , 21. Andrew Smith , 22. Clyde Rathbone


Morné Mellet, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Werner Kruger, Paul Willemse, Juandre Kruger, Deon Stegmann, Dewald Potgieter, Pierre Spies Jano Vermaak, Morne Steyn, Jurgen Visser, Jan Serfontein, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Zane Kirchner.

Replacements : Willie Wepener, Frik Kirsten, Wilhelm Steenkamp, Arno Botha, Ruan Snyman, Louis Fouche, Francois Venter.

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news