Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Habana returns for Stormers against Hurricanes

Bryan Habana has been named in the Stormers starting line up

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Wednesday 24 April 2013|

The Stormers have named their team to face the Hurricanes with Bryan Habana returning to the starting line up as one of three changes to the team that lost to the Sharks.

Wing Habana returns on the left wing having returned to fitness after sustaining a knee injury in early March.

Habana's return means that Damian de Allende drops to the bench and Gio Aplon shifts across to the right-wing.

Pat Cilliers will start at tighthead prop, in the only change up front, whilst forwards Scarra Ntubeni (hooker), Brok Harris (prop) and Rynhardt Elstadt (as lock and flank cover) and scrumhalf Nic Groom join the matchday squad on the bench

Ntubeni, who picked up a shoulder injury during pre-season training will make his first appearance of the season should he take to the field on Friday, whilst Elstadt is also back from a shoulder niggle after missing the Cheetahs and Sharks clashes.

Louis Schreuder will provide flyhalf cover from the bench, with Stormers coach Allister Coetzee opting to give Elton Jantjies one more week to be ready for the clash against the Blues in Albany on Friday, May 3.

"Elton trained well this week," said Coetzee. "I said earlier in the week that he was at 80%, but we want to ensure that he has a full week of training (next week) and that we have him ready for the Blues match.

"(Prop) Frans Malherbe is also getting a break this week, mainly as part of our rotation policy, but also to rest a slight AC Joint injury which he suffered against the Sharks."


15. Joe Pietersen,14. Gio Aplon,13. Juan de Jongh,12. Jean de Villiers (captain),11. Bryan Habana,10. Gary van Aswegen,9. Dewaldt Duvenage,8. Duane Vermeulen (vice-captain),7. Michael Rhodes,6. Siya Kolisi,5. Andries Bekker,4. De Kock Steenkamp,3. Pat Cilliers,2. Deon Fourie,1. Steven Kitshoff

Replacements :16. Scarra Ntubeni,17. Brok Harris,18. Rynhardt Elstadt,19. Nizaam Carr,20. Nic Groom,21. Louis Schreuder,22. Damian de Allende

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news