Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Sharks change captains for Chiefs in Hamilton

Keegan Daniel has been dropped to the bench this week

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Wednesday 24 April 2013|

Sharks coach John Plumtree has named his team to face the Chiefs in Hamilton with a number of injury enforced and rotational changes to the team that lost to the Cheetahs.

In the absence of Tendai Mtawarira, Wiehahn Herbst will play at loosehead prop alongside hooker Craig Burden and Springbok Jannie du Plessis.

Burden replaces Kyle Cooper who drops down to the bench. In the second row Franco van der Merwe who has started all eight games this campaign has been replaced by Pieter-Steph du Toit who played at flank last week, and he will partner Anton Bresler.

The loose forward trio has been completely re-arranged, Marcell Coetzee who has also started every game and carried a heavy workload makes way for debutant Derick Minnie who is on loan from the Lions.

Jean Deysel takes over the captaincy from Keegan Daniel who has been given a break and will come off the bench during the game.

Lubabalo Mtembu gets his first start at Super Rugby level, having gained three caps off the bench, replacing Daniel at eighthman.

Amongst the backline, there are further rotational changes with Charl McLeod and Cobus Reinach swapping jerseys and Piet Lindeque back in the black and white colours after a stint of Varsity and VC rugby and back to play for the province where he spent his early years after school.

Francois Steyn will partner Meyer Bosman in the absence of Paul Jordaan who returns home with a knee ligament injury in the final change.


15. Riaan Viljoen , 14. Odwa Ndungane , 13. Francois Steyn , 12. Meyer Bosman , 11. Piet Lindeque , 10. Patrick Lambie , 9. Charl McLeod , 8. Lubabalo Mtembu , 7. Jean Deysel (C) , 6. Derick Minnie , 5. Pieter-Steph du Toit , 4. Anton Bresler , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Craig Burden , 1. Wiehahn Herbst

Replacements , 16. Kyle Cooper , 17. Danie Mienie , 18. Franco van der Merwe , 19. Keegan Daniel , 20. Marcell Coetzee , 21. Cobus Reinach , 22. S'bura Sithole

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news