Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Reds beat Waratahs in Sydney

Live Super Rugby scoring

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 13 July 2013|

The last four Super Rugby matches between the Waratahs and the Reds were all won by the Reds regardless of where the match was played.

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick off.
The Waratahs kick off and we are underway.
2.00: Free kick from the scrum for the Waratahs. They take the quick tap and run it. The Reds defend.
4.00: Quade Cooper kicks to clear the ball and overcooks it as it goes into touch. The Reds do however win the ball back after the line out. This time Cooper kicks ahead and the ball goes out after one bounce.
6.00: The Reds are starting to look dangerous. They kick ahead after a couple of breaks and Ben Lucas has to chase but the Waratahs get back in time.
8.00: Penalty in front of the posts for the Reds. Quade Cooper will take the kick. He nails it. The Reds lead.
11.00: The Waratahs work the ball into the Reds 22 after several phases of attack. After a couple of attempts at the line by the Waratahs Cam Crawford bashes over and scores under the posts. TRY!
12.00: Brendan McKibbin takes the conversion kick and slots it.
15.00: Nick Frisby has a burst on attack and passes to Rod Davies who gets away and scores. We have to check the pass with the TMO who rules it was forward. No try.
18.00: The Reds have the ball on attack in the Waratahs 22. They win a penalty but run it and they send the ball wide to Ben Lucas who scores in the corner. TRY!
20.00: Quade Cooper takes the conversion from the touchline. He misses  but the Reds lead.
25.00: John Ulugia tackles Rod Davies and shoulders him little so he is shown a yellow card.
28.00: The Reds are taking their time grinding down the Waratahs and then Brendan McKibbin gets an intercept pass and he races away, Berrick Barnes goes with him and gets the ball and scores. TRY!. Interestingly Barnes is playing without his head gear in this match.
29.00: McKibbin takes the conversion kick but misses. The Waratahs lead.
33.00: The Reds work the ball back into the Waratahs 22. They grind forward and get to the 5m line but then get driven back.
34.00: Penalty for offside to the Reds. Cooper kicks for the corner.
37.00: The Reds continue to attack the Waratahs in their half. The Waratahs are generally keeping them around the 22m line.
38.00: Quade Cooper chips the ball ahead, Luke Morahan chases and chips ahead again and then he knocks on. Davies went on to score but the TMO disallowed it due to the knock on.
40.00: The siren sounds but we have time for a scrum. The Waratahs win a penalty and kick the ball out. It's half time.
The half time score was Waratahs 12 Reds 8
Quade Cooper kicks off and we are underway for the second half.
42.00: Penalty to the Waratahs. McKibbin takes the kick but he misses.
45.00: Penalty to the Reds this time. Quade Cooper takes the kick and  he nails it. The Reds trail by one.
47.00: Rod Davies is injured in a tackle and immediately lets out a scream of pain as he knee is bent out of shape in a tackle. "Hyperextended". Looks very painful. He is helped from the field. Dom Shipperley comes on as replacement.
50.00: Penalty to the Reds for offside. Quade Cooper will take the shot at the posts. He misses it - and the chance to put the Reds in front.
52.0:There is some foul play seen by the TMO. John Ulugia who was shown a yellow card earlier is seen throwing a punch. He gets a stern warning and the Reds get a penalty 25m out.
53.00: The Reds win the line out and attack in the Waratahs 22 until they knock on. Attendance is 26037.
54.00: Ed Quirk has been replaced by Beau Robinson.
55.00:The Waratahs engage the scrum early so the Reds have a penalty in front of the posts.
56.00: Cooper takes the kick and nails it putting the Reds into the lead.
58.00: Penalty to the Waratahs about 50 m out. Berrick Barnes takes the kick and sends it well wide.
61.00: The Waratahs get a break but Peter Betham knocks on. The match is a little subdued at the moment. The Reds try to attack the ball is knocked into touch.
62.00: Frisby is caught holding on to the ball so the Waratahs have a penalty. They kick for touch. Ben Volavola has come on for Betham.
66.00: The Waratahs are coming to life. They have upped the tempo of the match. They get the ball into the Reds 22 and build their attack.
70.00: The Waratahs are doing all of the playing now. They launch several attacks at the Reds. Somehow the Reds hang on.
71.00: Michael Hooper gets the ball and twists and turns through a tackle and goes over to score. The TMO checks. No try. Not grounded. 5m scrum.
76.00:The Waratahs are sending wave after wave of attack at the Reds. The Queenslanders are hanging on. Waratahs penalty. They will kick for posts.
78.00: Berrick Barnes takes the kick but misses.
79.00: The Waratahs are still attacking. Wave after wave at the Reds.
80.00: The siren sounds but still the Waratahs attack.
81.00: The Waratahs are all over the Reds but the visitors keep scrambling in defence. Barnes goes for a drop goal but misses. That's it. Reds win.
The full time score is Waratahs 12 (12) Reds 14 (8)


Tries - C.Crawford, B.Barnes
Pen -
Con - B.McKibbin
Drop -
Cards - J.Ulugia (25th min yellow)

Tries - B.Lucas
Pen - Q.Cooper 3
Con -
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
Steve Walsh
Assistant Ref 1:James Leckie
Assistant Ref 2:Ed Martin
TMO : George Ayoub



1. Benn Robinson , 2. John Ulugia , 3. Sekope Kepu , 4. Sitaleki Timani , 5. Kane Douglas , 6. Jed Holloway , 7. Michael Hooper , 8. Dave Dennis (c) , 9. Brendan McKibbin , 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Peter Betham , 12. Berrick Barnes ,13. Rob Horne , 14. Tom Kingston ,15. Cam Crawford

Replacements: 16. Luke Holmes, 17. Jeremy Tilse, 18. Will Skelton , 19. Pat McCutcheon, 20. Mitchell Chapman, 21. Matt Lucas ,22. Ben Volavola


1. Greg Holmes,2. Saia Faingaa,3. James Slipper (c),4. Ed O'Donoghue,5. Rob Simmons,6. Eddie Quirk,7. Liam Gill,8. Jake Schatz,9. Nick Frisby,10. Quade Cooper (vc),11. Luke Morahan,12. Mike Harris,13. Ben Tapuai,14. Rod Davies,15. Ben Lucas

Replacements : 16. Albert Anae,17. Jono Owen,18. Radike Samo,19. Jarrad Butler,20. Beau Robinson,21. Anthony Faingaa,22. Dom Shipperley

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news