Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Sharks end on a high by hammering Kings

Waylon Murray tangles with try scorer Tendai Mtawarira

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 13 July 2013|

The Sharks ended their Super Rugby season on a high by hammering the Southern Kings 58-13 at Kings Park in Durban.

The result moved the Sharks into seventh place in the standings but they were already out of the running for the play offs.

The Sharks outscored the Southern Kings by ten tries to two.

The loss meant the Southern Kings completed their first Super Rugby season without a victory over another South African franchise, with three victories and a draw to their name. They finish in last place.

The Kings will have to shake off this loss as they have to prepare for the promotion/relegation matches against the Lions.

The Eastern Cape franchise may have gained supporters throughout their first season in Super Rugby, but they were completely outclassed by the Sharks on Saturday.

The Sharks romped to victory scoring 10 tries to the Kings' two first-half tries.

The two sides exchanged early blows in the match with Kings flyhalf George Whitehead first crossing the whitewash in the third minute.

Kings centre Waylon Murray intercepted a Meyer Bosman pass to offload to Whitehead on the inside, with the flyhalf missing his own try.

The hosts replied with a try of their own three mintues later when flanker Marcell Coetzee scored off a rolling maul, with Bosman converting to hand his side a two-point lead.

As the match progressed the Sharks started to dominate play as they got the upperhand in the physical battles.

In the 13th minute the home side again found their way over the tryline from a rolling maul, with hooker Bismarck du Plessis controlling the ball from the back to touch down for his side, with Bosman adding the two points.

Playing out of position, Odwa Ndungane ignited the attack for his side as he kicked the ball through, which he chased and fielded to go over for the Sharks' third try of the match (19-5).

The visitors then launched a comeback as Whitehead converted a penalty attempt in the 24th minute, and six minutes later Mpho Mbiyozo scored their second try of the evening.

Whitehead missed the conversion with the Eastern Cape team trailing by six points.

Their efforts, however, came to nothing as the Sharks were awarded a penalty try three minutes later, with Bosman converting to hand his side a 26-13 lead going into the half-time break.

The Sharks proved to be ruthless after the recess as they added six tries to the four from the first half to completely dominate their coastal compatriots.

Riaan Viljoen kick-started his side's seven try haul in the second half as he touched down four minutes after the restart, with Bosman converting.

Four minutes later prop Beast Mtawarira found his way over the tryline as he sniped to the right from a ruck to score.

The Kings' defence crumbled as the Sharks' attacked the gainline with great intent and finding their way past the defenders increasingly easy.

With little over 20 minutes left in the match Louis Ludik added his name to the scoreboard with captain Keegan Daniel, Fred Zeilinga and Bosman scoring in the last 10 minutes of the encounter.

Final Score Sharks 58 (26) Kings 13 (13)


Tries - M.Coetzee, B. du Plessis, O.Ndungane, Penalty try, R.Viljoen, T.Mtawarira, L.Ludik, K.Daniel, F.Zeilinga, M.Bosman
Pen -
Con - M.Bosman 4
Drop -
Cards -

Tries - G.Whitehead, M. Mbiyozo
Pen - G.Whitehead
Con -
Drop -
Cards - D.Oosthuizen (32nd min yellow), H. Parkes (76th min yellow)

Match Officials
Jonathan Kaplan
Assistant Ref 1:Marius Jonker
Assistant Ref 2:Reuben Roussow
TMO : Shaun Veldsman



1. Tendai Mtawarira , 2. Bismarck du Plessis , 3. Jannie du Plessis, 4. Edwin Hewitt, 5. Franco van der Merwe, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 7. Jean Deysel, 8. Keegan Daniel (Captain), 9. Charl McLeod, 10. Riaan Viljoen, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 12. Meyer Bosman , 13. Louis Ludik, 14. JP Pietersen, 15. Odwa Ndungane

Replacements: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Wiehahn Herbst, 18. Jandre Marais, 19. Willem Alberts , 20. Jacques Botes, 21. Cobus Reinach, 22. Fred Zeilinga

Southern Kings

Siviwe Soyizwapi, Marcello Sampson, Waylon Murray, Shane Gates, Hadleigh Parkes, George Whitehead, Nicolas Vergallo, Charl du Plessis, Hannes Franklin, Kevin Buys, Devin Oosthuizen, Steven Sykes (captain), David Bulbring, Mpho Mbiyozo, Jacques Engelbrecht.

Replacements: Grant Kemp, Bandise Maku, Darron Nell, Thabo Mamojele, Aidon Davis, Shaun Venter, Michael Killian.

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news