Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Reds announce 2014 Super Rugby squad

James Horwill will lead the Reds in the 2014 Super Rugby season

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Friday 30 August 2013|

The Reds have named their squad for the 2014 Super Rugby season and James Horwill retains the captaincy and Will Genia the vice-captaincy.

The Reds have retained the nucleus of the playing group, which has seen the Reds reach three straight Super Rugby Finals series.

Captain Horwill and Vice-Captain Genia will lead the Reds and the squad will include mercurial flyhalf Quade Cooper, prop James Slipper, Anthony and Saia Faingaa, and young flanker Liam Gill.

"While there has been some movement within the squad, we have retained the core group that has delivered Queensland Rugby success over the past three seasons," said Head Coach Richard Graham.

"Something the organisation has worked hard on is establishing a culture within the squad that the players enjoy and want to be a part of.

"As far as we're concerned 2014 has already begun and we're determined to win more Super Rugby silverware," he added.

Four key members of the squad have re-signed with the Reds for a further two years with James Hanson, Beau Robinson, Albert Anae, and Dave McDuling all committing to the Reds until the end of 2015.

Prop Ben Daley has inked a contract until the end of the 2016 Super Rugby  season, while Jono Owen and Chris Feauai-Sautia have re-signed until the end of 2014.

University of Queensland fullback Jamie-Jerry Taulagi has also secured a contract in the Reds 30 man squad. In addition, two new players from the Queensland Premier Rugby competition have committed themselves to the Reds for 2014, showing the depth and strength of Queensland's top club competition.

Two of Queensland's oldest statesmen Adam Wallace-Harrison and Radike Samo have chosen to depart Ballymore following the 2013 Super Rugby season, with Samo travelling to Japan to further his career and Wallace-Harrison retiring.

Both had significant roles to play in the resurgence of Rugby in Queensland, and while both are aged over thirty, they played some of the best Rugby of their careers over the last few seasons with the Queensland Reds.

The backline will see some change in the 2014 season, with the most notable change being Test winger Digby Ioane who will travel to France for the next phase of his career after six seasons in Queensland.

Utility back Jono Lance and winger Luke Morahan will join the Waratahs and the Western Force respectively.

Jarrad Butler, who earned 11 caps during the 2013 season including one against the Lions, will move to the Brumbies.

Queensland Reds 2014 Super Rugby squad


Saia Faingaa
James Hanson
Albert Anae
Ben Daley
Greg Holmes
James Slipper
Jono Owen
James Horwill
Rob Simmons
Ed O'Donoghue
Ed Quirk
Dave McDuling
Liam Gill
Beau Robinson
Jake Schatz
Curtis Browning


Will Genia
Nick Frisby
Quade Cooper
Ben Lucas
Anthony Faingaa
Mike Harris
Ben Tapuai
Chris Feauai-Sautia
Rod Davies
Dom Shipperley
Jamie-Jerry Taulagi
Aidan Toua

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news