Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Hooper wins Australian player of the year award

Waratahsflanker Michael Hooper has won the John Eales Medal

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Friday 25 October 2013|

Waratahs and Wallabies flanker Michael Hooper has won the John Eales Medal after his Wallabies rugby teammates voted him their player of the year.

The 22-year-old Hooper won the award with 297 votes from backrower Wycliff Palu with 185, and rugby league convert Israel Folau, 177, who was named rookie of the year.

Adam Ashley-Cooper (131) and Christian Lealiifano (102) filled out the top five after votes cast over the course of the season were tallied.

Hooper's win was the fifth by an openside flanker in 11 years.

George Smith won the medal in 2002 and 2008, Phil Waugh in 2003 and David Pocock in 2010

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news