Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Crusaders make seven changes for Stormers

Wyatt Crockett starts at loosehead prop against the Stormers

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Thursday 6 March 2014|

Crusaders head coach Todd Blackadder has made seven changes to the team that lost to the Blues in Auckland for this week's Super Rugby match against the Stormers in Christchurch.

Wyatt Crockett will start at number one this week and Tim Perry moves to the bench. Luke Romano takes one of the starting lock positions alongside Sam Whitelock.

Luke Whitelock takes the number 6 jersey from his eldest brother George, who is recovering from an adductor strain.

And with Richie McCaw having just had surgery on a broken thumb, Matt Todd steps into the number 7 starting spot and Jordan Taufua will take a place on the bench.

In the backs, Willi Heinz will start at halfback this week and Andy Ellis will be ready to provide cover from the bench.

Israel Dagg starts on one wing this week and Johnny McNicholl on the other.

Nafi Tuitavake is recovering from a hamstring strain, which gives Tasman centre Kieron Fonotia the chance to make his Crusaders debut if he comes off the bench.

When the Crusaders take on the Stormers this Saturday night, one player will be primed to make his Crusaders debut and two of the teamís most senior players receive international awards.

Fans at AMI Stadium will be able to share in the occasion of Kieran Read and Richie McCaw receiving their trophies from the IRB for the International Player of the Year and 2013 Team of the Year (All Blacks) respectively. A presentation will take place at the conclusion of the match.


1.Wyatt Crockett , 2.Corey Flynn , 3.Owen Franks , 4.Luke Romano , 5.Samuel Whitelock , 6.Luke Whitelock , 7.Matt Todd , 8.Kieran Read (c) , 9.Willi Heinz , 10.Tom Taylor , 11.Israel Dagg , 12.Ryan Crotty (vc) , 13.Reynold Lee-Lo , 14.Johnny McNicholl , 15.Colin Slade

Replacements : 16.Ben Funnell , 17.Tim Perry , 18.Nepo Laulala , 19.Dominic Bird , 20.Jordan Taufua , 21.Andy Ellis , 22.Tyler Bleyendaal , 23.Kieron Fonotia

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news