Blues   Brumbies   Bulls   Cheetahs   Chiefs    Crusaders   Force    Highlanders   Hurricanes   Lions    Rebels   Reds   Sharks   Stormers  Waratahs - S.Kings
---- --- -- - ----

Waratahs beat Crusaders to win Super Rugby title

Adam Ashley-Cooper of the Waratahs scores a try during the Super Rugby Grand Final

Print Article | Click here for a free $150 Bet |

Article Published: Saturday 2 August 2014|

The Waratahs won their first ever Super Rugby title when they beat the Crusaders 33-32 in the Grand Final in Sydney at the ANZ Stadium.

Bernard Foley kicked a penalty in the final minute of the match to win the match and the title for the Waratahs in front of a record for Super Rugby at 61,823.

Both teams scored two tries each with Adam Ashley-Cooper scoring a double for the Waratahs.

The result ends an eleven match losing streak to the Crusaders for the Waratahs who last beat the Crusaders in February 2004.

The result also means that Waratahs coach Micheal Cheika becomes one of rugby's most successful coaches having won a Heineken Cup and now a Super Rugby title in his second year with the Sydney side.

The Waratahs made an explosive start which appeared to stun the Crusaders as they went out to a 14-0 lead.

They attacked on both sides of the field at pace before sending Adam Ashley-Cooper over for the opening try of the final.

The Crusaders responded with a break out try to Matt Todd who got the ball from 2013 IRB player of the year Kieran Read.

The Crusaders then suffered a blow as All Black star Daniel Carter limped off on the half hour mark and was replaced by Tom Taylor. Carter's departure coincided with a lift in the Crusaders who went in for half time trailing 20-13.

The Crusaders got the perfect start as Nemani Nadolo scored his 12th try of the season to draw level with Israel Folau for leading try scorers title this season. TMO replays showed that Nadolo's foot could have been in touch but the try was awarded nonetheless.

Slade's conversion levelled the scores and nine minutes into the second half the Crusaders took the lead for the first time with a penalty from Colin Slade.

The lead changed hands a couple of times but the momentum appeared to be with the Crusaders until the Waratahs went through 10 phases and managed to stretch the Crusaders and send man of the match Adam Ashley-Cooper over for his second try of the match.

Bernard Foley's conversion meant that the Crusaders needed to score a try or two penalties.

The Crusaders were awarded two penalties over the next minutes and Slade kicked both to put his team into a 30-32 lead.

With four minutes remaining the Crusaders looked to be on their way to winning their eighth Super Rugby title as they wound the clock down.

However in the 78th minute the Waratahs were awarded a penalty 45m out which is right on the edge of Bernard Foley's range and he just slipped the kick over the crossbar to win New South Wales and Sydney's first Super Rugby title after 19 years.

Final Score Waratahs 33 (20) Crusaders 32 (13)


Tries - A.Ashley-Cooper 2
Pen - B.Foley 7
Con - B.Foley
Drop -
Cards -

Tries - M.Todd, N.Nadolo
Pen- C.Slade 6
Con - D.Carter, C.Slade
Drop -
Cards -

Match Officials
: Craig Joubert
AR 1: Steve Walsh
AR 2: James Leckie
TMO: George Ayoub



1. Benn Robinson , 2.Tatafu Polota Nau , 3. Sekope Kepu , 4. Jacques Potgieter , 5. Kane Douglas , 6. Stephen Hoiles , 7. Michael Hooper (c), 8. Wycliff Palu , 9. Nick Phipps , 10. Bernard Foley , 11. Rob Horne , 12. Kurtley Beale , 13. Adam Ashley-Cooper , 14. Alofa Alofa , 15. Israel Folau .

Replacements (two to be omitted): 16. Tolu Latu , 17. Jeremy Tilse , 18. Paddy Ryan , 19. Will Skelton , 20. Mitchell Chapman , 21. Pat McCutcheon , 22. Brendan McKibbin , 23. Taqele Naiyaravoro 24. Matt Carraro , 25. Peter Betham


1. Wyatt Crockett ,2. Corey Flynn, 3. Owen Franks ,4. Dominic Bird ,5. Samuel Whitelock 6. Richie McCaw ,7. Matt Todd ,8. Kieran Read (C), 9. Andy Ellis ,10. Colin Slade ,11. Nemani Nadolo ,12. Dan Carter ,13. Ryan Crotty (VC) ,14. Kieron Fonotia ,15. Israel Dagg

Replacements : 16. Ben Funnell ,17. Joe Moody ,18. Nepo Laulala ,19. Jimmy Tupou ,20. Jordan Taufua ,21. Willi Heinz ,22. Tom Taylor ,23. Johnny McNicholl

Super XV Rugby Advertising

Super XV Rugby Team news