O?Connor wins Blues MVP and Players’ Player award



Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Blues loose forward Brendon O’Connor has been voted the Blues Most Valuable
Player and the Players’ Player of the Year for 2015.

Former Crusaders player O’Connor, who played in every game and started
in 15 of the 16 matches, was honoured at the Blues Awards function at the weekend.

Southland lock Josh Bekhuis was voted the SKYCITY Fans’ Player of the
Year, while North Harbour’s Matt McGahan was voted Westie Pies Development
XV Player of the Year.

Other awards went to James Parsons (Nutrition Award sponsored by Nestle), Ofa
Tu’ungafasi (Player in the Community Award sponsored by NZ Herald), Melani
Nanai (Rookie of the Year Award sponsored by Placemakers) and Tony Hanks (Club
Person of the Year sponsored by Barfoot and Thompson) and inaugural winner
of the Mealamu Medal.

The function also honoured players leaving the club, notably the legendary
Keven Mealamu and Tony Woodcock, who announced they have brought an end to their
Super Rugby careers, with 324 caps and 28 years of Super Rugby between them.

O’Connor has signed a contract with English club Leicester Tigers where he
will be coached by former Crusader Aaron Mauger.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.