Super Rugby

Reds lock Tui cited for foul play

on

Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Reds Super Rugby lock Lukhan Tui has been cited by Sanzaar for alleged foul play during a Super Rugby match against the Rebels at the weekend.

As per Sanzaar policy for the matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the Foul Play Review Committee.

Tui is alleged to have contravened Law 9.18 – A player must not lift an opponent off the ground and drop or drive that player so that their head and / or upper body make contact with the ground, during the match between the Rebels and Reds at AAMI Park in Melbourne on 24 February 2018.

The referee for the match, Brendon Pickerill, issued a Yellow Card for the incident which occurred in the 22nd minute.

Upon further review of the match footage, the Citing Commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the Red Card threshold for foul play.

The Case is to be considered in the first instance by the SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee which will take place on Sunday 25 February 2018, 9am(SAST), 6pm(AEDT), 8pm(NZDT) via video-conference.

All SANZAAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to the Foul Play Review Committee to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

Player: Lukhan Tui
Team: Reds
Position: Lock
Date of Incident: 23 February 2018
Nature of Offence: Law 9.18 – A player must not lift an opponent off the ground and drop or drive that player so that their head and / or upper body make contact with the ground.
Elapsed time in match when incident occurred: 22:00

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.