Rugby Championship

Rugby Championship Links: : Home | Argentina | Australia | South Africa | New Zealand | Fixtures | Standings |


2012 Rugby Championship Results

2012 Rugby Championship Results

South Africa62311201091111212
New Zealand66001776611120226

The 2012 Rugby Championship was the inaugural annual rugby union series between the national rugby union teams of New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, and Argentina.

The Rugby Championship replaced the TriNations which ran from 1996 to 2011 and was contested by New Zealand, Australia and South Africa.

The name Rugby Championship was adopted as SANZAAR did not want a name too similar to the Six Nations so the expected name of the Four Nations was not used.

The first Rugby Championship match was played on the 18th of August 2012 and the last was on 6 October. Each team played the other twice on a home and away basis.

At the end of six matches each New Zealand were crowned as Champions.

Match Referee

Round 1

Australia 19
New Zealand 27
18 August 2012
ANZ Stadium, Sydney Alain Rolland (Ireland) 76,877
South Africa 27
Argentina 6
18 August 2012
Newlands Cape Town Steve Walsh (Australia) 38,843

Round 2

New Zealand 22
Australia 0
25 August 2012
Eden Park, Auckland Nigel Owens (Wales) 48,460
Argentina 16
South Africa 16
25 August 2012
Estadio Malvinas Argentinas, Mendoza Steve Walsh (Australia) 37,679

Round 3

New Zealand 21 v Argentina 5 8 September 2012 Westpac Stadium, Wellington Romain Poite (France) 29,932
Australia 26 v South Africa 19 8 September 2012 Patersons Stadium, Perth Nigel Owens (Wales) 34,377

Round 4

New Zealand 21 v South Africa 11 15 September 2012 Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin George Clancy (Ireland) 28,982
Australia 23 v Argentina 19 15 September 2012 Skilled Park, Gold Coast Wayne Barnes (England) 22,278

Round 5

South Africa 31 v Australia 8 29 September 2012 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria Alain Rolland (Ireland) 44,463
Argentina 15 v New Zealand 51 29 September 2012 Estadio Ciudad de La Plata, La Plata Jaco Peyper (South Africa) 53,000

Round 6

South Africa 16 v New Zealand 32 6 October 2012 FNB Stadium, Johannesburg Alain Rolland (Ireland) 80,753
Argentina 19  v Australia 25
6 October 2012
Estadio Gigante de Arroyito, Rosario Craig Joubert (South Africa) 37,000


For more on the Rugby Championship click on


Brought to you by the leading Super Rugby site.


For more on the Rugby Championship - Click Here