Super Rugby

Sharks pile on the pain for the Western Force




The Sharks put in a dominant display back from South America as they beat the Force 37-12 at Kings Park in Durban.

The Force have never won in Durban and this defeat makes it eight on the bounce against the Sharks.

The Natal team are undefeated in their past nine matches at Kings Park now and have continued the good work from Argentina.

The Durban side raced to a 20-7 half-time lead thanks to two late tries from Jean-Luc du Preez and Jeremy Ward.

Curwin Bosch put in another superb performance with a try and 15 points with the boot as the South Africans added to the Australian’s woes.

Marcel Brache found his way past some stubborn Sharks defence late in the game.

Jono Lance combined with the fullback after some good backline play to add to James Verity-Amm’s first-half score to inspire some hope but, it was not to be as the hosts hit back soon after to kill of their resistance.

But, it was in vain, as the Sharks extended the lead to 25 points thanks to Lukhanyo Am’s intercept try.

The Natal team are undefeated in their past nine matches at Kings Park and are on the up, the Force, however, are in some trouble as this season falls away.

Final score: Sharks 37 (20) Western Force 12 (7)


Tries – Ward, J. du Preez, Bosch, Am
Pen – Bosch (3)
Con – Bosch (3), Lambie
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Verity-Amm, Brache
Pen –
Con – Prior
Drop –
Cards – Rona (Yellow, 37th minute)

Match Officials
Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant Ref 1: Quinton Immelman
Assistant Ref 2: Archie Sehlako
TMO: Shaun Veldsman



15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Jeremy Ward, 11 Sibusiso Nkosi, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Michael Claassens, 8 Daniel du Preez, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Philip van der Walt (captain), 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Thomas du Toit.

Replacements: 16 Franco Marais, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Stephan Lewies, 20 Lubabalo Mtembu, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Patrick Lambie, 23 Johan Deysel.

Western Force

15 Marcel Brache, 14 James Verity-Amm, 13 Curtis Rona, 12 Billy Meakes, 11 Alex Newsome, 10 Jono Lance, 9 Ian Prior, 8 Isireli Naisarani, 7 Matt Hodgson (captain), 6 Brynard Stander, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Ross Haylett-Petty, 3 Tetera Faulkner, 2 Tatafu Polata-Nau, 1 Pek Cowan.

Replacements: 16 Heath Tessmann, 17 Francois van Wyk, 18 Shambeckler Vui, 19 Lewis Carmichael, 20 Richard Hardwick, 21 Mitchell Short, 22 Luke Burton, 23 Peter Grant.

Recommended for you

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.