Super Rugby | Super 15 Rugby and Rugby Championship News,Results and Fixtures from Super XV Rugby

Squire returns for Highlanders against Reds

Liam Squire has been bracketed for this weekend's Super rugby match

Highlanders Super Rugby head coach Tony Brown has been able to include Liam Squire in his team to play the Reds in the final round of the 2017 Super Rugby Season on Friday at home at Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin.

Head Coach Tony Brown has named a team that has a similar feel to the team that beat the British and Irish Lions team in the June break.

- Latest Super Rugby betting odds
- Full Super Rugby fixtures
- Follow us on Facebook / Twitter

Squire, who has been side-lined with injury since round 11 after breaking his thumb against the Cheetahs, returns to the starting line up in the blind-side flank position.

All Blacks, Aaron and Ben Smith will be rested for this game while Liam Coltman, Malakai Fekitoa and Waisake Naholo will run out against the Reds.

Maori All Black representatives, Tom Franklin and Rob Thompson make the starting line-up and Ash Dixon is in the reserves.

Head Coach Tony Brown commented, “It’s great to have the boys all back together, we’ve had a great preparation week and are looking forward to a tough challenge against the Reds.

The team is excited about putting on a great performance in what could be our last game at home in front of our fans ”.

The side will be co-captained by Luke Whitelock and Ash Dixon.

The Highlanders finals placing is yet to be determined but depending on results will likely play the Lions or Crusaders however that will not be known until the round is complete on Sunday morning.

Matt Faddes was unavailable due to injury while Jason Emery, Hayden Parker, Shane Christie have all been ruled out for the season.


1. Daniel Lienert-Brown. 2. Liam Coltman , 3. Siate Tokolahi , 4. Jackson Hemopo, 5. Tom Franklin, 6. Liam Squire, 7. James Lentjes, 8. Luke Whitelock (CC), 9. Kayne Hammington, 10. Lima Sopoaga, 11. Tevita Li, 12. Rob Thompson
13. Malakai Fekitoa, 14. Waisake Naholo, 15. Richard Buckman

Replacements : 16. Ash Dixon (CC), 17. Aki Seiuli, 18. Guy Millar, 19. Gareth Evans, 20. Dan Pryor, 21. Josh Renton, 22. Marty Banks, 23. Patelesio Tomkinson