Super Rugby

Stormers hold on to beat Bulls at Loftus




The Stormers will go into the Super Rugby Quarter-finals with momentum after they beat the Bulls 33-41 at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria.

The Stormers have now won back to back victories after their return to Super Rugby from the break in June.

The Cape Town side’s victory over the Bulls coupled with results earlier in the round means that the Stormers will host the Chiefs in Cape Town next weekend.

The Stormers quarter-final will be a repeat of last year’s Super Rugby quarter final which the Chiefs won 21-60 in Cape Town.

The lead on the scoreboard changed several times through the match and as the match drew to a close the Bull scored two quick tries to draw within a point of the Stormers.

However former Springbok Sevens star Seabelo Senatla scored a last minute try to seal the victory in a match that saw 11 tries being scored.

Cheslin Kolbe, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Dillyn Leyds, Siya Xolisi and flyhalf Damian Willemse also scored tries for the Stormers.

Jesse Kriel (2), Jason Jenkins, Duncan Matthews and Piet van Zyl scored tries for the Bulls who will have a new coach next season as former All Black coach John Mitchell has taken charge of the Pretoria side.

The match was the last Super Rugby match for the Bulls under Nollis Marais and they finish the season on four wins. Seven years ago the Bulls won the last of their three titles.

The Stormers finished the regular season in third place behind the Lions and Crusaders but will need to take a big step next week if they are to reach the Semi-finals.

Final Score Bulls 33 (21)  Stormers 41 (22)


Tries – J.Jenkins, D.Mathews, J.Kriel, P.van Zyl, J.Kriel
Pen –
Con – T.Schoeman 3, T.Jantjies
Drop –
Cards – C. Janse van Vuuren (52nd min yellow)

Tries – C.Kolbe,  S.Notshe, D.Lleyds, S.Kolisi, D.Willemse, S. Senatla
Pen – D. Willemse
Con – D. Willemse 4
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Quinton Immelman
Assistant Ref 1:Federico Anselmi
Assistant Ref 2:Jaco van Heerden
TMO: Marius Jonker



Warrick Gelant ,Travis Ismaiel , Jesse Kriel , Jan Serfontein , Duncan Matthews, Tian Schoeman,Rudy Paige , Nic de Jager , Jannes Kirsten , Shaun Adendorff, RG Snyman, Jason Jenkins , Conrad Janse van Vuuren, Adriaan Strauss , Pierre Schoeman

Replacements: Jaco Visagie , Trevor Nyakane , John Roy Jenkinson ,Ruben van Heerden, Ruan Steenkamp , Piet van Zyl,, Tony Jantjies , Burger Odendaal


15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 6 Siya Kolisi (c), 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth (vc), 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg

Replacements: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Frans van Wyk, 19 Chris van Zyl, 20 Juarno Augustus, 21 Justin Phillips, 22 Juan de Jongh, 23 Dan Kriel

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.