Super Rugby

Stormers run in record score against Rebels




The Stormers will remain on top of the Africa 1 Super Rugby Conference for another week after they beat the Rebels 31-57 in Melbourne.

The Stormers 57 points is their biggest ever in Super Rugby against all teams including the Rebels as it surpasses the 56 points they scored against the Lions in 2009.

The record score is the most they have ever scored on Australian soil against the Rebels and surpasses the previous best of 40 points in the 2011 fixture in the same city.

Ironically the Rebels 31 points is also their best ever score against the Stormers and surpasses the 30 score they achieved in 2013 at the same venue.

The Stormers outscored the Rebels by seven tries to four and their final try in extra time earned them the bonus point.

The win gave the Stormers a nine-point South Africa 1 conference lead over the Bulls who will play in the final match of the round against Jaguares in Buenos Aires.

The Rebels clawed their way back to a 31-31 midway through the second half but then the Stormers dominated the last 20 minutes to secure a vital bonus point victory.

“Our big focus tonight was on accuracy and when we were accurate we were able to put points on the board,” Stormers captain Schalk Burger said.

“They are a difficult side to play against. They attack very well, which they showed by scoring 31 points.”

The Stormers ran in seven tries to four, with flyhalf Jean-Luc du Plessis scoring 27 points, including a try, five conversions and five penalties.

“Flyhalf is such a pivotal position,” Burger said. “He’s a young player and he’s got heaps and heaps of talent.”

The visitors’ win was set up by a dominant set piece, with the Rebels struggling in the scrums and line-outs.

The Rebels weren’t helped by the loss of both starting second rowers in the first half, which allowed Springbok lock Eben Etzebeth free rein in the line-outs in the second half.

The home side actually started the better of the two teams and scored two converted tries in the first 15 minutes to open a 14-6 lead.

But a try to du Plessis on the 20-minute mark and a third penalty soon after put the Stormers ahead 16-14.

A try to lock Vincent Koch opened the lead to 23-14 but a penalty to Rebels flyhalf Jack Debreczeni narrowed the gap to six points at the break.

Rebels winger Jonah Placid crossed 11 minutes after the restart and Debreczeni’s touchline conversion put the home side back in front.

In a see-sawing game the Stormers were soon back in front 31-24 thanks to a du Plessis penalty and an Etzebeth try.

The Rebels, who were struggling to win their own ball from the scrums and the line-outs, hit back again when winger Tom English made a superb break up the middle and put Debreczeni in under the posts to tie the game up at 31 apiece.

But that was as good as it got for the Rebels, who were blown away in the final 20 minutes.

“In the second half we let ourselves down but we were probably in the worst case situation,” Melbourne captain Sean McMahon said.

“I think we had four flankers on there at one stage.

“We proved we can put points on the board, but we have to finish stronger.”

Next week the Stormers play the Western Force in Perth while the Rebels travel to Christchurch to play the Crusaders.

Final Score Rebels 31 (17) Stormers 57 (23) 


Tries -S.Naivalu, B.Meehan. J.Placid, Debreczeni
Pen – J.Debreczeni
Con -J.Debreczeni 4
Drop –
Cards -S.Fuglistaller (61st min yellow)

Tries –  J.du Plessis, V.Koch. E.Etzebeth, N.Groom, D. De Allende, L.Zas, S.Ntubeni
Pen – J.Du Plessis 4
Con – J. Du Plessis 5
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
Assistant Ref 1:Nic Berry (Australia),
Assistant Ref 2:Amy Perrett (Australia)
TMO : Ian Smith (Australia)


Melbourne Rebels

1. Cruze Ah Nau , 2. James Hanson , 3. Toby Smith , 4. Luke Jones , 5. Lopeti Timani , 6. Jordy Reid , 7. Sean McMahon (captain) , 8. Colby Fainga’a , 9. Ben Meehan , 10. Jack Debreczeni , 11. Tom English , 12.Mitch Inman  , 13. Sefa Naivalu , 14. Jonah Placid , 15. Reece Hodge

Replacements : 16. Pat Leafa , 17. Tom Moloney , 18. Laurie Weeks , 19. Culum Retallick , 20. Scott Fuglistaller , 21. Mick Snowden , 22. Sione Tuipolotu , 23. Paul Asquith


15 Jaco Taute, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Daniel du Plessis, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Schalk Burger (captain), 7 Siya Kolisi, 6 Nizaam Carr, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Oli Kebble.

Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Alistair Vermaak, 18 JP Smith, 19 JD Schickerling, 20 Rynhardt Elstadt, 21 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 22 Louis Schreuder, 23 Scott van Breda.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.