Rugby Championship News

Sublime All Blacks crush Australia in Rugby Championship




New Zealand’s All Blacks gave Australia’s Wallabies a masterclass in rugby as they won the Rugby Championship Bledisloe Cup opener 8-42 with a bonus point.

The All Blacks outscored the Wallabies by six tries to one so they earn the bonus point from the match and top the Rugby Champioship standings.

The damage was done in the first half as the All Blacks led 3-32 at half time but eased off in the second half which they won 5-10.

The victory extends the All Blacks unbeaten streak to 12 matches and their last loss was to Australia in August last year.

The victory is the All Blacks third in a row against Australia who have now lost their last five Tests.

The All Blacks will retain the Bledisloe Cup – which they have held since 2003 – for another year due to the result.

First half injuries to Matt Giteau (ankle), Matt Toomua (head) and Rob Horne (arm) depleted the home side, while the visitors looked slick from the opening whistle, running in four tries in the opening half.

Crucially, all three players who left the field injured for the Wallabies – Giteau in the 10th minute, Toomua (30th) and Horne (39th) were all playing at inside centre at the time.

New Zealand, clinical and powerful took full advantage of Australia’s troubles to run away with the match and put a strong stamp on the 2016 Rugby Championship and Bledisloe Cup.

The men in gold registered first points for the night through a penalty goal to Bernard Foley in the 3rd minute of the match, but from there it was all New Zealand.

Ryan Crotty outpaced three defenders on his way to the tryline, finishing superbly after he found open space off some slick All Blacks passing.

After a pair of penalty goals to stretch the lead out to 13-3, it was Beauden Barrett who tore through the Wallabies defence to score the visitors’ second.

Only five minutes later the All Blacks were in again, after Jerome Kaino charged down a Foley kick and regathered himself to score.

Waisake Naholo finished off some more sublime lead up work to register the New Zealanders’ fourth five-pointer on the stroke of half time.

Down to the bare minimum in available backs and with reserve scrumhalf Nick Phipps occupying the left wing, the Wallabies fought hard in the opening fifteen minutes of the second half before eventually the visitors struck again, this time through replacement hooker Dane Coles.

The Coles try was quickly followed by another on the opposite side of the field to replacement winger Julian Savea, extending the lead to 42-3, where it would stay until Phipps finally broke through for the only try of the night for the Wallabies with just five minutes left to play.

Despite a brave second half effort, conceding two tries to one, the Wallabies never came close to matching their Trans-Tasman rivals as the All Blacks recorded their biggest win over the Australians since 1996 and biggest ever victory on Australian soil.

It was a five-star performance from All Blacks man of the match Beauden Barrett, who orchestrated the midfield masterfully and finished the night with 17 points from a try, three conversions and two penalty goals.

Next week New Zealand host Australia at Westpac Stadium in Wellington which is home to the Hurricanes who won their first Super Rugby title this year.

More to follow.

Final Score Australia 8 (3) New Zealand 42 (32)


Tries – N.Phipps
Pen – B.Foley
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

New Zealand
Tries – R.Crotty, B.Barrett, J.Kaino, W.Naholo, D.Coles, J.Savea
Pen – B.Barrett 2
Con – B.Barrett 3
Drop –
Cards – K.Read (74th min yellow)

Attendance : 65 328

Match Officials
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant Ref 1:Romain Poite (France)
Assistant Ref 2:Federico Anselmi (Argentina)
TMO : Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)



1. Scott Sio , 2. Stephen Moore (c), 3. Sekope Kepu , 4. Kane Douglas , 5. Rob Simmons , 6. Ben McCalman , 7. Michael Hooper, 8. David Pocock , 9. Will Genia , 10. Bernard Foley 11. Dane Haylett-Petty 12. Matt Giteau 13. Tevita Kuridrani 14. Adam Ashley-Cooper 15. Israel Folau

Replacements : 16. Tatafu Polota-Nau 17. James Slipper 18. Allan Ala’alatoa* 19. Dean Mumm, 20. Scott Fardy, 21. Nick Phipps , 22. Matt Toomua , 23. Rob Horne ,

* debut

New Zealand

1. Wyatt Crockett , 2. Codie Taylor , 3. Owen Franks, 4. Brodie Retallick , 5. Samuel Whitelock, 6. Jerome Kaino, 7. Sam Cane , 8. Kieran Read (c), 9. Aaron Smith, 10. Beauden Barrett , 11. Waisake Naholo , 12. Ryan Crotty, 13. Malakai Fekitoa , 14. Ben Smith , 15. Israel Dagg

Replacements : 16.Dane Coles , 17. Kane Hames, 18. Charlie Faumuina , 19. Liam Squire , 20. Ardie Savea, 21. TJ Perenara , 22. Aaron Cruden , 23. Julian Savea

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.