Super Rugby

Western Force ring the changes for the Blues


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Western Force Super Rugby head coach Dave Wessels has named a team with several changes for this Saturday’s clash with the Blues at Eden Park.

Tetera Faulkner comes back into the starting front row replacing Jermiane Ainsley who dislocated his elbow against the Crusaders last week.

After making his Super Rugby debut last week, Richie Arnold has been given his first start in the second row, while club stalwart Matt Hodgson comes into the familiar number 7 jersey.

Inside centre Bill Meakes comes back into the squad in the number 12 jersey, after recovering from an ankle complaint, with Marcel Brache moving to outside centre. Curtis Rona is unavailable for the game after suffering a concussion against the Crusaders.

Wallaby Dane Haylett-Petty returns to the fullback position and will look to pick up where he left against the Brumbies in Round Three.

On the bench, Anaru Rangi – another product of Perth’s local club rugby – is set to play his first match of the season and Australian Under 20s sensation and former Future Force Foundation product Shambeckler Vui is in-line to make his Super Rugby debut off the bench.

Head Coach Dave Wessels says his team needs to improve on last week’s performance and taking on the Blues at Eden Park provides the opportunity to do so.

“We know that to turn around the outcome of last week we need to be a lot better in a number of key areas – not least our defence. It’s great to have the experience of Dane, Billy and ‘Hodgo’ back in the side this week.

“The boys have trained really hard this week under difficult circumstances and I couldn’t be more proud to be part of this team.”

Western Force

Ben Daley , Tatafu Polota-Nau , Tetera Faulkner , Matt Philip , Richie Arnold , Ross Haylett-Petty , Matt Hodgson , Isi Naisarani , Ryan Louwrens , Jono Lance , Alex Newsome , Billy Meakes , Marcel Brache , Chance Peni , Dane Haylett-Petty

Replacements : Anaru Rangi , Pek Cowan , Shambeckler Vui , Richard Hardwick , Kane Koteka , Michael Ruru , Ian Prior , Robbie Coleman

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.