13 man Sharks hold off 14 man Chiefs team




Super rugby AU : Standings | Fixtures | Super Rugby Aotearoa: Standings | Fixtures |


A Sharks team with 13 players held on in Durban to beat a Chiefs team with
14 players 12-11 and end a five match losing streak to the Hamilton side.

Poor discipline cost both teams dearly as three Red Cards were issued in the
match – two for the Sharks and one for the Chiefs.

Hika Elliot was the first player to be Red Carded for a dangerous (no arms)
tackle at the ruck. He was soon followed by Bismarck du Plessis for what was
arguably the worst offence of the day.

Sharks captain Du Plessis was seen by the Referee’s Assistant committing an
act of foul play and the TMO was called upon to look at the incident as it had
gone unseen by everyone else.

The replays were shown on the big screen and Du Plessis clearly kicked Michael
Leitch in the head and Sharks hooker could be spending some time out of rugby
for the act.

Du Plessis was red carded which evened the teams out at 14 players each.

However there were more cards to come as just 10 minutes later Frans Steyn
– with help from Cobus Reinach and Ryan Kankowski – tackled Aaron Cruden over
the horizontal and drove him head first into the ground.

The TMO suggested a yellow card as the act was not Steyn’s alone but the referee
and his assistant disagreed because of Cruden’s head being driven into the ground
and Steyn was red carded.

Several other players were lucky to escape at least a yellow card with Chiefs
replacement back Tom Marshall not punished for striking scrum-half Cobus Reinach
in the back with his knee.

“It was a very ugly first half,” conceded Sharks fly-half and stand-in
skipper Patrick Lambie.

“It is never nice to see players being sent off in a rugby match.”

Chiefs skipper and flanker Liam Messam jumped to the defence of the red-carded
trio, stressing that none of them were “dirty players”.

“Rugby is a contact sport and that is the way it goes sometimes. None
of those sent off are dirty players,” said the All Black.

Elliot was first to go having struck Sharks prop Tendai ‘The Beast’ Mtawarira
on the back of the head with a flying shoulder during a ruck after 16 minutes.

A fallen Du Plessis followed him to the touchline just two minutes later after
pushing his right boot into the side of the face of Chiefs No. 8 and Japan captain
Michael Leitch.

Steyn was dismissed on 28 minutes with the referee overruling the television
match official (TMO), who believed a dangerous tackle on Chiefs fly-half Aaron
Cruden was only a yellow-card offence.

A hectic Saturday for Super 15 referees in South Africa saw New Zealander Nick
Briant sin-bin two forwards from the Australian Western Force side within 60
seconds in Pretoria earlier.

Lambie kicked four penalties from five attempts to win the sixth-round game
for the Durban outfit, who trailed 11-9 at half-time in wet, windy conditions.

Chiefs flanker Sam Cane scored the only try at Kings Park stadium and Cruden
slotted two penalties while missing two other shots at goal.

Victory lifted Sharks three places to fifth on the southern hemisphere inter-provincial
championship table while two-time champions the Chiefs remained fourth.

Lambie and Cruden exchanged penalties within five minutes of the kick-off and
after the three red cards, they slotted another penalty each.

Cane struck on 34 minutes with a try that had ‘made in South Africa’ stamped
on it.

Chiefs won a line-out, created a driving maul and over Cane went, using a tactic
much favoured by South African Super 15 teams.

Lambie cut the gap to two points with his third penalty on the stroke of half-time
and another successful shot at goal on the hour proved decisive.

Final Score’Sharks 12′(9)’Chiefs 11′(11)


Tries -‘
Pen – P.Lambie 4
Con -‘
Drop -‘
Cards – B.du Plessis (17th minute Red card), F.Steyn (27th min yellow)

Tries – S.Cane
Pen – A.Cruden 2
Con -‘
Drop -‘
Cards -H. Elliot (15th minute yellow)

Match Officials
Referee:’Angus Gardner
Assistant Ref 1:Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Ref 2:Cwengile Jadezweni
TMO :’Marius Jonker



15. SP Marais , 14. Odwa Ndungane , 13. JP Pietersen , 12. Francois Steyn , 11. Lwazi Mvovo , 10. Patrick Lambie , 9. Cobus Reinach , 8. Ryan Kankowski , 7. Renaldo Bothma , 6. Marcell Coetzee , 5. Marco Wentzel , 4. Mouritz Botha , 3. Jannie du Plessis , 2. Bismarck du Plessis (C) , 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements : 16. Kyle Cooper , 17. Dale Chadwick , 18. Lourens Adriaanse , 19. Lubabalo Mtyanda , 20. Daniel du Preez , 21. Conrad Hoffmann , 22. Andre Esterhuizen , 23. Waylon Murray


1. Jamie Mackintsoh , 2. Hika Elliot , 3. Siate Tokolahi , 4. Matt Symons , 5. Michael Fitzgerald , 6. Liam Messam (c) , 7. Sam Cane , 8. Michael Leitch , 9. Brad Weber , 10. Aaron Cruden , 11. James Lowe , 12. Andrew Horrell , 13. Seta Tamanivalu , 14. Bryce Heem , 15. Damian McKenzie

Replacments : 16. Rhys Marshall , 17. Ben Tameifuna , 18. Mitchell Graham , 19. Michael Allardice , 20. Johan Bardoul , 21. Augustine Pulu , 22. Tom Marshall , 23. Hosea Gear

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.