June International Tours

Ireland down Wallabies


Super Rugby Quick Links : Home | News | Fixtures | Super Rugby Betting | Standings |

Ireland allowed their fans to dream of world domination after conquering not only Australia but tempestuous conditions in Dublin on Sunday, recording a remarkable 21-6 victory over the touring Wallabies.


This is Ireland’s second ever win over the two-time world champions and means that Ireland have secured back-to-back wins over southern hemisphere sides for the first time.

Ulster flanker Neil Best was named man of the match.

The scorers:

For Ireland:
Tries: Hickie, Murphy
Con: O’Gara
Pens: O’Gara 3

For Australia:
Pens: Mortlock 2


Ireland: 15 Geordan Murphy, 14 Shane Horgan, 13 Brian O’Driscoll (captain), 12 Gordon D’Arcy, 11 Denis Hickie, 10 Ronan O’Gara, 9 Isaac Boss, 8 Denis Leamy, 7 David Wallace, 6 Neil Best, 5 Paul O’Connell, 4 Donncha O’Callaghan, 3 John Hayes, 2 Rory Best, 1 Bryan Young.
Replacements: 16 Frank Sheahan, 17 Marcus Horan, 18 Malcolm O’Kelly, 19 Simon Easterby, 20 Peter Stringer, 21 Paddy Wallace, 22 Girvan Dempsey.

Australia: 15 Chris Latham (vice-captain), 14 Clyde Rathbone, 13 Lote Tuqiri, 12 Stirling Mortlock (captain), 11 Mark Gerrard, 10 Stephen Larkham (vice-captain), 9 Matt Giteau, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Phil Waugh (vice-captain), 6 Rocky Elsom, 5 Mark Chisholm, 4 Nathan Sharpe, 3 Guy Shepherdson, 2 Brendan Cannon, 1 Al Baxter.
Replacements: 16 Tai McIsaac, 17 Benn Robinson, 18 Al Campbell, 19 George Smith, 20 Josh Valentine, 21 Mat Rogers, 22 Scott Staniforth

Referee: Marius Jonker (South Africa)
Touch judges: Nigel Owens (Wales), Malcolm Changleng (Scotland)
Television match official: Mark Lawrence (South Africa)
Assessor: Brian Smith (Ireland)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.